Denon x2200w - no DD/DTS-Sound

Masterpeace

Novice Member
Hey guys, I'm new to you on the forum but hope you might be able to help me.

I have a pretty big problem with my Denon x2200w. I have not used the receiver for a year while it was well packed in the attic. After I set it up in the new apartment, I wanted to have it calibrated with Audyssey, of course, and there was already the first problem - there was no sound coming out of the speakers. After I could not fix this, I used the previous preset I measured and played a Dolby Digital and a DTS source each as a first test (own a 5.1 setup). Again, no sound came out and the AVR did not show DTS or DD(+) either. However, as soon as a stereo source is used, sound is played out.

To further narrow it down - any kind of resets have been done, recent updates applied and also multiple devices used (PS4, computer, Fire TV Stick). These were also each tested on different HDMI ports on the AVR.

I do not know if there was this problem before, or if there are ideas for repair? I suspect that over the cold in the attic the solder has become brittle and therefore the chip no longer has good contact.

Of course, this is all conjecture, but maybe someone of you knows the problem and can help me!

Dobbyisfree

Apologies to ask a really stupid question but, just to make sure, you're not powering on Zone 2 instead of the main zone?

I'm pretty sure by how you've described it that isn't the case but worth the question just in case.

Dobbyisfree

Another stupid one, you have nothing plugged into the headphone socket? And have you used it previously? If that is making some kind of contact it could cut out main speakers?

Masterpeace

Novice Member
Was my first guess! There were also sufficient statements on the Internet that dust has deposited there and it came to problem. No, it was cleaned with compressed air and there is also sound coming out of the boxes. Just not with Audyssey, Dolby Digital or DTS.

Dobbyisfree