Denon X2000 & B&W CM7's

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by RJay, Feb 10, 2014.

Tags:
  1. RJay

RJay

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +90
    Hi all,
    I have a Denon X2000 and B&W Cm7's fronts, CM center and CM1's as rears.When I listen to music using the fronts at about -6Db after a while the amp turns off.I think its overload protection.
    My question is..Is this amp powerful enough to power my speakers or is there some other setting that is causing this?
    I am a bit of a noob with Av equipment so any advice is appreciated.
    I dont have a sub.
    I have run the audyssey set up and the configuration is as follows.
    Front set to Large
    Centre set to small
    Surround set to small.
    Amp assign is Bi-amp
    Speaker selection crossovers are...
    Front - Full Band
    Centre and surround - 80Hz
    LPF for LFE - 250Hz

Is there anything I need to change?

Edit*
    MultEQ XT set to Graphic EQ
    Dynamic EQ - Off
    Dynamic Volume - Off

Many thanks,
    Ray

2. RJay

RJay

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +90
    Anyone please?

3. goujam

goujam

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +187
    The x2000 should be able to power your speakers fine check the wiring make sure there are no stray wires causing a short

4. dante01

dante01
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +11,048
    The receiver can power your speakers to reference level if the distance from your listening position to the speakers is within what would be expected of an AV receiver of this level. The further away you are from the speakers then the more power is needed to attain reference levels in relation to your listening position. Any amp can be deemed not powerful enough if the distance from the speakers is too far for the amp to attain the levels required.