1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Denon vs Yamaha?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by balders, Oct 15, 2003.

Tags:
  1. balders

balders

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +25
    To come straight to the point, what would YOU spend your money on - Denon 1804 or Yamaha AX640SE?

I've just about decided to splash out on a set of Kef 2005.2s, and am now wondering which amp to get to drive them. Main use will be home cinema, but also used for music (and the wife's a musician)

I had all but decided on a Yamaha AX640SE, but I've just noticed the new Denon 1804. The old model 1803 got good reviews, so I'm assuming the 1804 is going to be pretty good too.

So, my question is, how do the Yamaha and Denon compare against each other, with regard to features (I'm still quite new to all this!), and sound quality. Has anyone auditioned the two side-by side, or found any head-to-head reviews?

Both are available at around the £300 mark, and I don't really really want to spend any more than this (so no, I don't want to get a 3803 or similar before anyone suggests it !)

Thanks,

Balders.

2. Nobber22

Nobber22

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +109
    Hmmmm, don't know what either of you are used to (is this your first foray into hifi?), but the above 3 together may lead to a feeling that something - midrange - is missing when listening to music.

The Kefs are good, but very careful setup is required to get the full-range working properly. I'd probably go for the Denon as the Yamaha has a fixed crossover of 90hz, the Denon's is variable which is useful for getting better integration between sats and sub.

I suggest you 2 try to demo the Kefs vs a set of full-range speakers eg. Mission M3 range or Wharfedale Diamonds.

3. Ed Selley

Ed Selley
    AVF Reviewer

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3,222