denon link cable

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by HAL 2007, May 2, 2007.

Tags:
  1. HAL 2007

    HAL 2007
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi all I have a denon 3910 dvd and a 3805 amp but have lost my denon link cable dose anyone no where I can get a replacement from ?

    T.I.A
     
  2. Mr Incredible

    Mr Incredible
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    23,930
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Fylde Coast
    Ratings:
    +13,680
    Apparently you can use shielded Cat5 or Cat6 network cable at the fraction of the cost of a Denon Link cable!
     
  3. chrissb6

    chrissb6
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2003
    Messages:
    45
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    U.K
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes a cat 5 or 6 cable will do the job:thumbsup: . I had the very same problem:rolleyes: check my thread from a few weeks back, Denon forum came to the rescue, don't get sucked into a buying a top dollor replacement, mine cost a fraction from Maplins:)
     
  4. Peter Galbavy

    Peter Galbavy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    And Maplins is a rip-off in turn for patch leads... but if you are buying just one then that shouldn't matter... A "bulk" 2m STP patch lead should cost about £1 - £1.50 from most network cable suppliers, but by the time you add minimum order / delivcery charges, you will be matching the £6 - £10 you pay at Maplins.

    Don't even get me started about the Dixons/Currys/Comet rip-offs!
     
  5. keithlewin

    keithlewin
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    193
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Witham, Essex
    Ratings:
    +6
    You need to make sure the Cat 6 cable is properly shielded at the actual plug ends. If it's just plastic you can see it won't work as the Denon uses the copper "cap" for earthing (so the guys at Denon tech support told me). The Cat 6e cable is actually better than the ones they ship with the Denon 3910 which is very basic indeed.
     

Share This Page

Loading...