Denon DVD-A1XV

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Ricky22buk, Oct 29, 2005.

1. Ricky22buk

Ricky22buk
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi everyone !

I'm new on here guys but am hoping to pick up alot of idea's from you all.

Firstly, I am only a beginner in the home cinema front, but as I intend to do this only once and make it last me for a while I intend to go for high end items from Denon. I'm particulary interested in High Defination when it comes out and I have just ordered a new 50" Pioneer to cope with that. So my question..... how does this top of the range DVD player fair when HD comes out ? Is it worth buying now or should I just buy something alot cheaper until the HD DVD, blue ray etc etc comes out ?

Opinions please !

All replies appreciated !

Ricky !

2. gandley

gandley

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +269
    personaly i would not bother with the denon A1xv and go for a cheaper rival.
    Say the pioneer 989 or arcam DV29. these are both a fair bit cheaper and are both excellent performers. I had the denon on home lone for a week and it is a great dvd player but it is not that much better and at most times could not realy see much difference (if any).
    I have decided to get a pioneer 989 and get one of the new scalers/Deinterlacers that feature either a genum or realta HQV chip. this will work out a tad more expensive than a Denon A1xv (althougth the pioneer 989 will cost £799, and its main plus is tha it outputs an interlaced signal via HDMI which is fed straight to the scaler. This is also also true of the arcam units) but will deliver a much better picture.