Denon DVD-A1XV firmware?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Drem, Mar 28, 2006.

  1. Drem

    Drem
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Ratings:
    +8
    I have a Denon DVD-A1XV and I am wondering if there are any new firmware revisions for this player? I mean there have been so many for the 3910 so you have to wonder. How do I check which firmware is in the player, is it same procedure as 3910?
     
  2. Eddy Boy

    Eddy Boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +27
    Yep. Well to the procedure at lest.
     
  3. Jase

    Jase
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,935
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +3,254
    I don't know of any firmware revisions but there's a hardware update due soon and presumably it will receive a firmware update in the process.
     
  4. Drem

    Drem
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Ratings:
    +8
    The hardware upgrade seems unneccasary if you don't happen to own a 1080p display. According to Kris at avsforum.com there are no PQ approvements from the upgrade, only 1080p capability.
     
  5. Jase

    Jase
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,935
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +3,254
    1080P displays will start to be more common soon so it might be a handy future feature to have. Each to their own though. :)
     
  6. Timbo21

    Timbo21
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    4,681
    Products Owned:
    4
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +332
    I wonder if Denon will do firmware updates for the A1XV, or just ones for the A1XVA.
     
  7. Jase

    Jase
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,935
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +3,254
    I'd imagine they'd do them if something was needed. I'm not aware of anything that needs to be corrected as such. I think initial US units had a couple of things that had to be sorted but believe they were corrected before the A1XV was launched.
     
  8. awhb

    awhb
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    There is a firmware update required if (like me) you had one of the early models without Denon Link 3. This is done as part of the DL3 upgrade done by Denon.

    --awhb
     
  9. Drem

    Drem
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Ratings:
    +8
    Do you know what is the latest firmware number? I will check which firmware I have when I get home from work tonight.
     
  10. Drem

    Drem
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Ratings:
    +8
    I can't remember the exact procedure. Was it press PLAY + SKIP FORWARD while switching on the player?
     
  11. awhb

    awhb
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't know what the latest version is, this is from mine, post-DL3 upgrade last year:

    ESS 6780-6
    Make Day 609D
    DRV 030825
    System 6867-2
    Scaler 0A 02 This will be 04 on later 2005 build versions
    DSP 6790
    C 20041028


    To verify your firmware version:

    i) Switch the main power button off on the front of panel (NOT the standby button).

    ii) With the player switched off, press and hold down both the [play] and [open/close] buttons together.

    iii) Whilst holding the buttons down, switch the player back on and keep the [play] and [open/close] buttons depressed for about 3 seconds. Then let them go.

    iv) With the remote control, when the display shows "LOADING", then press the following buttons, in order: [3] [2] [6] [5] [menu]

    v) Press the Menu button on the remote control repeatedly until you have checked that all the version numbers above for your model have shown in the display.


    If your DVD-A1XV won't display the firmware version when you follow the instructions then you have a pre-Jan'05 build, with Denon Link S.E. only. For DL3 you need to ask your dealer to send it to Denon for a (free) upgrade.

    --awhb
     
  12. Drem

    Drem
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Ratings:
    +8
    Thank you very much! Very informative :thumbsup: I'll post my information here later tonight.
     
  13. Drem

    Drem
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Ratings:
    +8
    Nothing happens... :(

    I will see tomorrow what the dealer says.
     
  14. awhb

    awhb
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just one thing to try first; before you check your firmware, switch the player on (i.e. so the front light is green) and then switch off directly with the power switch (i.e. not the standby button). Then follow the instuctions. I found it made a difference.

    --awhb
     
  15. Drem

    Drem
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Ratings:
    +8
    I tried several times but nothing. Dealer has not replied to email, I will try again.
     
  16. Drem

    Drem
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Ratings:
    +8
    Can I check how old or when my unit is manufactured from the serial number?
     
  17. Jase

    Jase
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,935
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +3,254
    Denon should be able to tell you if you give them the serial number.
     
  18. Drem

    Drem
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Ratings:
    +8
    I will try to send them an email and see what they say about it.
     
  19. Jase

    Jase
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,935
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +3,254
    They're a bit slow at responding to emails. I'd give them a quick call instead. :)

    01753 680568 (Main Line)
    01753 688495 (Product Support)
     
  20. Drem

    Drem
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Ratings:
    +8
    Thanks, but I'm in Sweden and I don't think there is any local number to call here :(
     
  21. Jase

    Jase
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,935
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +3,254
    Swedish Distributor:- :)

    Hi-Fi Klubben Göteborg
    Skanegatan 25
    S-412 52 Göteborg
    Sweden
    Tel : ++46 031 335 10 10
    Fax: ++46 031 335 10 19
    www.hifiklubben.se
     
  22. Drem

    Drem
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Ratings:
    +8
    Yes, that store I have visited many times. I have sent email about this and also tried to call them. They answer emails sometimes, and sometimes not :mad: I hope I get an answer about the firmware tomorrow or monday.
     
  23. pedrovi

    pedrovi
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    31
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, you can check month and year of manufacture from the serial number.
    F. ex. mine has S/N 50684103**.
    It means the player was made in 2005 (first number=5).
    The month of manufacture was June (the following two numbers 06).
    Let's say the S/N was 41284001**. This would indicate a player made in 2004 (4), in the month of Dez (12).
    Hope this helps.
     
  24. Drem

    Drem
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Ratings:
    +8
    Thanks! That is excellent info. I will check when I get home.
     
  25. Drem

    Drem
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Ratings:
    +8
    The above mentioned procedure for checking the firmware revision doesn't work on my unit...so I asked my local Denon dealer (Hifi-Klubben Göteborg) and he said:

    "press in order 1, 2, 3, 4 (display)"

    Well this doesn't work either... :( :confused: :mad:

    I told him it doesn't work, lets see what he says tomorrow.
     
  26. awhb

    awhb
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    This just means you have a December'04 build with the original firmware, which doesn't display the version info!

    Mine was the same and didn't show the version info either, when I got the DL3 upgrade from Denon (yours will still be DL2/SE also) they also upgraded the firmware and the version info is now displayed.

    --awhb
     
  27. Drem

    Drem
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Ratings:
    +8
    Allright, I have informed them of this and my suspicion that my player has the very first A1XV firmware since there is no way of checking the version info via the display. Let's see what their answer is..

    Anyone know what kind of improvements have been done since the first firmware (if any?). Denon Link / Firewire / HDMI features or improvments put aside since I only use DVI-DVI and analog outputs. I am mostly thinking of sound and picture improvements.

    I have been told this is the latest firmware (for A1XV w/o 1080p) from a very reliable source:

    ESS 6780-6
    MAKEDAY 609D
    DRV 030825
    SYS 6867-2
     
  28. Drem

    Drem
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Gothenburg, Sweden
    Ratings:
    +8
    awhb:

    You don't happen to have the firmware and instructions how to apply it? I was thinking back to the Denon DVD-3910 days when we used to apply new firmwares ourselves :smashin:
     
  29. awhb

    awhb
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't expect DL3 from the firmware upgrade alone, this requires a back-to-base hardware upgrade too.

    --awhb
     
  30. Eddy Boy

    Eddy Boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +27
    6 is the latest version, Drem do you know if you machine was multi regioned? it may need to be undone so that you can check the firmware version.
     

Share This Page

Loading...