Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Denon DVD-A1 (SE) - multi-region firmware ne1 ?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Sultan, Jan 23, 2003.

  1. Sultan

    Sultan
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does ne1 have the multi-region firmware for the Denon DVD-A1 SE (= Denon Link SE)? Mr. Merricks version doesn't work for this model anymore... :(

    PLZ share it with me ;)


    Cheers,
    Sultan

    (sultan@gmx.at)


    Edit: The remote-hack would also do... - Yes, there is one...
     
  2. thfccambs

    thfccambs
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2002
    Messages:
    23,952
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    White Hart Lane
    Ratings:
    +6,898
  3. Sultan

    Sultan
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the links. But as I am looking for this since November I already tried these sites... No luck!


    Cheers
     
  4. godzilla

    godzilla
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2002
    Messages:
    661
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lightwater
    Ratings:
    +14
    according to this site:
    http://pub106.ezboard.com/faussiedvdandhtforumfrm38.showMessage?topicID=80.topic

    Denon have been told not to release the firmware to anyone other than authorised dealers as the new Denon link allows digital transfer of DVD-A.

    I may be about to buy one from Ben at Discount TV who seems clued up about Denon Link SE. They do the MR/Pal prog hack on site.

    How do you rate the dvd-video performance?
     
  5. Sultan

    Sultan
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    @godzilla

    Read my reply on the topic you linked to... The information is wrong for SOFTware updates.

    The performance is - of course - A+++ :)


    Cheers.
     
  6. godzilla

    godzilla
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2002
    Messages:
    661
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lightwater
    Ratings:
    +14
    But apparently the software for post-SE MR/Pal prog is available and has been tested, so if you're right why is your usual source not able to supply you?
     
  7. BabylonP

    BabylonP
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +5
    Guys

    Just got the player back with upgraded firmware.

    All is most definately well

    Multiregion
    RCE OK
    PAL Prog
    FBI skip
    No sign of Chroma bug on any of the known test material.

    Absolutely stunning picture especially using a PAL superbit disk.

    I cannot test Denon link SE yet as my A1SR has to be updated when Denon release the upgrade.

    I double checked the reason why they had to carry out the upgrade and the reason is that the Denon Link (SE) can now pass copyright audio across it and Denon want this controlled.

    Phil
     
  8. godzilla

    godzilla
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2002
    Messages:
    661
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lightwater
    Ratings:
    +14
    I thought it was just the dvd player that had to be upgraded to use the Denon Link SE? What do they have to change on the amp and when are they going to start doing that?
    We should all buy shares in Denon's preferred courier service at this rate!
    I was about to buy both units after a confirmatory demo this weekend, but it looks like I should hang fire till the amps come pre-modded.
    There is NEVER an ideal time to buy anything, with another upgrade always around the corner...
     
  9. BabylonP

    BabylonP
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +5
    I far as I am aware some of the latest A1SR's already have the SE Denon link. You can tell if the amp has it by looking on the back of the unit next to the link connector, if its SE it will have a SE logo next to it.

    You may also find that Denon have included an addendum sheet similar to the one I got with my A1.

    So just check with the supplier

    They have no dates yet for upgrading older A1SR to SE but they will anounce something soon. I am lucky as I live on 20 mins from Haden labs so I could take it in when required.

    Phil
     
  10. godzilla

    godzilla
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2002
    Messages:
    661
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lightwater
    Ratings:
    +14
    thanks Phil, but are you absolutely certain that an older A1SR has to be modded or are they just putting new stickers on to advertise the fact that the SE is out?
    THe real test would be have you tried playing a DVD-A through Denon Link SE to your A1SR?
    I'm curious because one of my options is to buy a 2nd hand A1SR, but I won't if I have to lose it for a few weeks at some point to get it upgraded.
     
  11. BabylonP

    BabylonP
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +5
    The Denon link does not work at the moment, so no its does need an update.

    The reason is that the protocol has changed to allow the link to pass copyright material. Now I told that the amp only needs a firmware change and not hardware and firmware. People who are alot more knowledgeable about this unit could verify that is the case.

    On the Denon website is the following.

    http://www.web-quality.ch/WQ/apres_...ID=DenonUK&VKundenID=DenonUK&Branche=1607&S=2

    Make sure you cut and paste all of the link.

    If no announcement has been made I will be giving them hassle at the Bristol show.

    Phil
     
  12. godzilla

    godzilla
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2002
    Messages:
    661
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lightwater
    Ratings:
    +14
    Just ordered the latest Denon DVD A1 (SE) and matching A1SR (SE) from the ever helpful (and patient) Ben from Discount TV.
    You are completely right Phil, you have to have one of the latest amps in order to benefit from the updated Denon Link.
    I've just ordered a couple of DVD-A's from Play to test the new link and will post the results when I've had a listen.
     
  13. klnc

    klnc
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2002
    Messages:
    385
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +36
    godzilla,

    Just out of interest, how long do you have to wait for delivery for the DVD A1, and if you don't mind, how much did you pay for it?
     
  14. godzilla

    godzilla
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2002
    Messages:
    661
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Lightwater
    Ratings:
    +14
    Discount TV/Electrical have the latest DVD A1s in stock now.
    I don't want to get Ben into trouble with Denon so call him on 01282 864 048, but they are normally willing to knock quite a few hundred quid off!
    It will supposedly never play SACD, but I'll manage! As I said before there is NEVER a good time to buy equipment...
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice