1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Denon DVD-2910 MR firmware ESS-6720-8

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Digitalsurfer, Mar 6, 2005.

  1. Digitalsurfer

    Digitalsurfer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Posted on German AV forum www.hifi-forum.de. Credits go to the original poster Dierterle.
    Download link can be found in this thread: DVD-2910 6720-8 Codefree.
    Rename file to zip (i.e. remove .jpg extension), unpack, burn.

    Already tried that new MR firmware. It works flawlessly on my 2910.

    Cheers,
    Digitalsurfer
     
  2. jrosado

    jrosado
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    172
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi:

    it seems that the bandwith quote for the place where the file is sotred has been exceded. Can you please e-mail me your copy to jfr2003@nospam.sapo.pt ? (remove the nospam.)

    Regards,

    J. Rosado
     
  3. Digitalsurfer

    Digitalsurfer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    You got mail.
     
  4. rdt123

    rdt123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    1,406
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Busting out a restaraunt in Queens, NY
    Ratings:
    +30
    don't suppose you can send a copy to r.tarn@barnsley.org i can't seem to upgrade my firmware no matter what i do

    cheers

    Rob
     
  5. jrosado

    jrosado
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    172
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +0
    You got mail. Be aware that this firmware is for the 2910 (not the 3910).

    Regards,

    J. Rosado
     
  6. rdt123

    rdt123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    1,406
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Busting out a restaraunt in Queens, NY
    Ratings:
    +30
    Can anyone tell me why no matter what i do burning to CD or DVD i can't get the firmware to work? My player says loading then stop and thats it. In fact with a DVD it syas stop but spins up the disc every few seconds. All the setting are as i have been told and am using nero

    Heeeellllllppppppp
     
  7. rdt123

    rdt123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    1,406
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Busting out a restaraunt in Queens, NY
    Ratings:
    +30
    PS i haven't received that email digitalsurfer, could you resend it

    Cheers

    Rob
     
  8. jrosado

    jrosado
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2004
    Messages:
    172
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Portugal
    Ratings:
    +0
    rdt123:

    You just have to burn a cd-r/rw at the lowest speed possible, in mode1, ISO9660, disc at once, with the file that's inside the zip on the root. have you receiveid the e-mail allready?

    Digitalsurfer:

    Any idea of what this firmware corrects?

    Regards,

    J. Rosado
     
  9. rdt123

    rdt123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    1,406
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Busting out a restaraunt in Queens, NY
    Ratings:
    +30
    hi jrosado, i have all the setting set as youpoint out but in the root i just get 0 on the disc and nothing happens

    annoying

    Rob
     
  10. martin1234567

    martin1234567
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  11. jackb

    jackb
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Would appreciate anyone who can email me the firmware at yathlee@yahoo.com

    Thanks!!!!!!!!!! :lease: :lease:
     
  12. jackb

    jackb
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    rdt123, I have updated the ealier version twice without any problem What cd burning software do you use? I will try to help you if you provide me with the detail.

    Also, if you don't mind, please email me the firmware as well. I can't download it due the limit set at the hosting site.
     
  13. Digitalsurfer

    Digitalsurfer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    6
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Firmware emailed to rdt123 (again), martin1234567 and jackb.
    Maybe a kind person could host the firmware file?
     
  14. dex

    dex
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2002
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Could you email it to me please and I'll host it.

    Email HERE
     
  15. rdt123

    rdt123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    1,406
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Busting out a restaraunt in Queens, NY
    Ratings:
    +30
    Hi digitalsurfer,

    Sorry, it was our mail server playing up. Have it now. I'm using nero. I set mode 1 and ISO 9960 only. Burnt at lowest speed to both CD-R and DVD+R

    No luck yet
     
  16. rdt123

    rdt123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2002
    Messages:
    1,406
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Busting out a restaraunt in Queens, NY
    Ratings:
    +30
    Thanks so much,

    it worked and i now have DVD-A menu's and audio with video! Brilliant

    Rob
     
  17. dex

    dex
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2002
    Messages:
    10
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
  18. Beastie Boy

    Beastie Boy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You have mail.

    Apologies for the filesize, I'm not allowed to send zip files from work.

    Cheers, Beastie.
     
  19. limbk

    limbk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    I know it has been listed before - but I can't find it anymore.

    Can a kind soul list the steps required to update the 2910 firmware?

    Thanks!
     
  20. Beastie Boy

    Beastie Boy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Here is a pdf that came with a previous release. Ignore the firmware version number referred to within.

    Cheers, Beastie.
     

    Attached Files:

  21. limbk

    limbk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    Beastie Boy,

    Many thanks!!! :thumbsup:
     
  22. limbk

    limbk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    I tried the upgrade this evening and it worked a treat!!! :clap: :clap:

    Thanks to Digitalsurfer for sharing the firmware, Dex for hosting the firmware and to Beastie Boy for sharing the official installation instructions from Denon. It gave me more confidence to undertake the upgrade on my 3 week old 2910.

    The difference in Version 8 over Version 4:-

    (i) DVI output is now brighter and with higher contrast. Previously, DVI was noticably darker;

    (ii) Green tint issue over DVI more or less resolved. This is still a tinge of green tint but easily overcome with the hue adjustment on the TV

    (iii) consequently much better PQ over DVI!!

    (iv) the DVD-A menu is now visible over DVI. It wasn't before the upgrade

    (v) for SACD playback, the amount of noise is very much reduced at very high volume playback. No difference with DVD-A. Previously, noise levels was quite high at very high volume. I am talking about >85% levels here!

    Overall, very pleased with the upgrade :thumbsup: . Will recommend those who have not upgraded to do so. The most difficult step in the process is to burn the file at ISO and Mode 1 and at the lowest speed. My software has a default of Juliet+UDF. To be doubly sure, I made sure that the CD-R was verified after burning.
     
  23. OregonWomble

    OregonWomble
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had a region 1 ntsc player, and the pal/ntsc menu was disabled, and the pal/ntsc button on the remote would not work either. I installed the version 4 code free patch, and it would play all regions, but it would not output a DVI signal with a PAL disk.

    Has anyone purchase a region 1 machine that would output pal or ntsc, or are all the machines sold in the US ntsc only?

    Will the version 8 codefree firmware fix this problem?
     
  24. mbaxevan

    mbaxevan
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can only change PAL < -> NTSC when no disc is inserted (or tray is open) or try to set your TV type to MULTI in the Video Setup Menu.
     
  25. sirjoe

    sirjoe
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi everybody,
    I upgraded my european 2910 to version 8 and it worked great.

    :thumbsup:
     
  26. Duffers0

    Duffers0
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Guys

    You seem to having some success with the update, great.

    My recent (less than a month) purchase was updated in Sevenoaks to multi region at the point of sale.

    I asked what firmware version but the salesman had little idea.

    Can someone publish the button pressing sequence for firmware number to appear on screen.

    Where update 8 has been successful can you confirm it maintains mulit region.

    Strange but my multi region updated in the shop is described as region 1-6 is that full multi region??

    Bit nervous but I might give the firmware update a go, though I have been very happy with the player since I bought it. :smashin:
     
  27. mbaxevan

    mbaxevan
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does any know which bugs this firmware (-8) fixes and/or does it add any additional features/bugs? Or is it just a MR version of the -7 firmware?
    However I have succesfully "flashed" my player with the -8 firmware bacause I needed the MR feature. Worked just perfectly.

    Still it would be nice to know more...

    Thanks :clap:
     
  28. sirjoe

    sirjoe
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    3
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Duffers0, the pdf file in message #20 explain everithing you need to know to update and show the version number
     
  29. Duffers0

    Duffers0
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Cheers

    Outputs read

    DSP 6770
    ESS 6720 -4
    Make Day 831
    DRV 030825
    Systems 6768 -2


    Guess the ESS reading means firmware version 4, right??


    What does the other outputs mean?? :clown:
     
  30. Top-Trump

    Top-Trump
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Since I had to register to access the info I thought I'd post something in celebration!

    The pdf instructions are very easy to follow and I burnt a firmware cd with no problems. The update worked fine too and only took a minute.

    I've just bought House of Flying Daggers R3 DTS (only 8.99 from cdwow with discount - thanks to this forum) and this spurred me on to finally do the update after watching the various firmware posts since buying it last November.

    All is fine and I'll be watching it tonight.

    Thanks
     

Share This Page

Loading...