Denon DVD-1920 with Pioneer PDP-436XDE Any known problems?

fidelityutensil

Standard Member
Hi there, long time reader..first time poster! (as they say!)

Well second time actually, just put similar post on the DVD bit (Sorry, I'm new to this!!)

Anyways, Just hooked up a Denon DVD-1920 to my Pioneer PDP-436XDE (via HDMI), and quite frankly, I was expecting a little more!

Am I doing something wrong/ are my expectations too high, or is there a problem with these two together?

I'd read a few things on the board about people having issues with these - (upscaler chips compatability probs or something), and would like to know if i should bin the Denon and look at something else.

I played around with settings etc with no joy, couldn't really see much of a difference between the picture through HDMI and that through my Scart!

Any help much appreciated!

keefers

Novice Member
I'm going to show my utter, utter ignorance here ... :eek:

What sort of difference should one expect to see when using HDMI over SCART? I too have a 1920 & a 436 and I see little if any improvement. I only got the 1920 earlier this week so I haven't had a chance to play with it much yet.

K.

fidelityutensil

Standard Member
keefers said:
I'm going to show my utter, utter ignorance here ... :eek:

What sort of difference should one expect to see when using HDMI over SCART? I too have a 1920 & a 436 and I see little if any improvement. I only got the 1920 earlier this week so I haven't had a chance to play with it much yet.

K.

Hi there, nice to see someone else in the same boat!

I was under the impression, with the upscalling that you would get a near HD quality picture (it was the reason I upgraded from my trusty 4 year old Sony DVP-S725D) surrely upscalled over HDMI should be alot better than standard over Scart!?

I read a couple of posts including this one:

blackeyepurple said: