1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Denon DVD-1710 quick opinion

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by darrellr, Jul 20, 2004.

1. darrellr

darrellr

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    I've received my new DVD player and, after the initial excitment of having my component cable fail, I've been astounded.

My previous DVD player was the Denon DVD-2500, a sturdy, well built player that really looked the part. Unfortunately it didn't play CD-R / CD-RW / DVD+R / DVD+RW / DVD-RW / Photo-CD.

I have no great experience of what the competition may look like when connected up with my kit but I can assure you I'm VERY happy with what I've just bought. WOW! I now feel I'm getting my moneys worth out of my plasma. Spectacular picture quality, films have taken on a new life. I'm tempted to watch each and every one of my old DVDs just to appreciate them more.

The downsides are build quality, it's plasticy and if it were any lighter it would float but hey @ 109 inc. delivery what do you expect. There is also a discernable hum when playing. The noise is only noticable when the amp is muted but even so.

Denon DVD-1710 connected by component cables / optical to Denon AVR-1804 and Hitachi PD-5100. Video output set to progressive

2. ndenbow

ndenbow

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +11
    Does this player do both PAL & NTSC progressive? I can't decide between this and the Pioneer 575, which does both prog scan. BTW Where did you buy your unit from?

3. flamingoboo

flamingoboo

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +3
    I have just ordered one from avland, it was also a toss up for me between this and the pioneer 575.

Looking forward to recieving it tomorrow.

4. SamirP

SamirP

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +32
    Yes the 1710 outputs both NTSC & Pal prog scan

5. darrellr