1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Denon Dm31 and B and W p4`s ??

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by pete1866, Oct 25, 2004.

1. pete1866

pete1866

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +37
    Hi i am new to all this (all start somewhere!)and have just bought a pair of B and W p4 speakers and am looking for a reasonable cd player that plays cdr`s and cdr/w`s up to 2oo pounds, it is for use in an faily big living room.to play mostly rock and some vocals,would like it to play reasonably loud but not real loud, would the denon dm31 sound okay with them, or would i be better selling the p4`s and buying some mission speakers . any advice would be most appreciated thanks ?

2. Nobber22

Nobber22

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +109
    Forget it mate! The DM31 is way too weedy to drive P4's to any level safely. You need an amp with a lot more power. Look around for a second-hand amp with at least 60W RMS. Those P4's are great speakers and deserve better partnering equipment. Don't sell them and settle for some budget Missions either, look around for a good second-hand CD player and amp instead. :)

3. pete1866

pete1866

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +37
    hi thanks for the reply have taken your advice onboard, can you recommend some cd players and amps thanks

4. CJROSS

CJROSS

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +343