1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Denon Direct Mode

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Mike-M, Apr 6, 2005.

Tags:
  1. Mike-M

    Mike-M
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,263
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lincoln
    Ratings:
    +30
    Can anyone tell me how to stop the Sub joining in when my Denon 2105 is in direct mode? I am assuming that when in direct mode the amp puts out what it receives. But when I play stereo the sub joins in making it 2.1.
     
  2. Jules

    Jules
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2000
    Messages:
    5,096
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +768
    Use the channel level option and turn down the subwoofer.
    Just beyond -12db the next position is 'off'.
     
  3. Mike-M

    Mike-M
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,263
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lincoln
    Ratings:
    +30
    Where will I find this option (do you mean use the test tone and turn the sub right down?)
     
  4. Markie Boy

    Markie Boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,259
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Perth, Western Australia (Originally Ireland)
    Ratings:
    +228
    Im not sure if the 2105 has a "Pure Direct" mode. Some of the Yamaha models for example have a straight mode, stereo mode (which plays the sub if enabled) and a Pure Direct mode, which bypasses all tone controls, video circuits, DSPs and OSD and plays simply left and right. This I think is on the 2805 and upwards, not sure if its on the 2105.
     
  5. Andy_Lee

    Andy_Lee
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2005
    Messages:
    98
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Telford Shropshire
    Ratings:
    +0
    My 3805 has pure direct mode which does switch off the Sub I'm not sure if the normal "Direct" mode had the option but I will take a look see next time I get the chance
     
  6. the mechanic

    the mechanic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,193
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Wrexham,North Wales
    Ratings:
    +52
    Hi,
    The option you need is on the remote, find the CH SELECT/ENTER button on it (the round one near the bottom), making sure the amp is in DIRECT mode, press it to cycle thru FL/FR then at SUB press the arrow left to turn the sub down. At -12db a final press to the left will display SUB OFF.

    Hey presto, no sub output :thumbsup:

    Hope this helps,

    Graham.
     
  7. Mike-M

    Mike-M
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,263
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lincoln
    Ratings:
    +30
    Had a play with this, what's been said works but it seems to affect all imputs so when I to watch a movie I have to go in and up the volume on the Sub again. I was hoping that the settings were imput specific so when playing stereo signals via the CD input the amp would not use the sub but when using the input from the DVD the amp would. Is this possible?
     

Share This Page

Loading...