1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Denon DHT500/ screenplay 4805 hook up problems

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by gnc123, Feb 6, 2005.

1. gnc123

gnc123

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am new to home cinema and after much research I have opted for a system with the Denon at the heart and a screenplay 4805 projector. I have played a few dvds through the sytem (using the prog scan/ component outputs) and have been very impressed with both the quality of the image and the sound.

I also want the system to play TV (via an ariel socket in the room which is fed from a telewest cable box in another room) and x-box. I am having problems with both of these.

1. TV - I cannot find an input on the back of the denon to take a standard ariel. I hooked up a portable TV via the scart cable and managed to get the sound coming through the speakers, but couldn't get the image to the projector. Can someone please suggest how this is done.

2. X-box - If I feed the xbox into video in 2 on the back of the Denon, I can get the video via the projector but no sound. If I feed it though the scart, I get sound but no image!. Whats the best way to hook up an x-box to the denon for play via a projector???? :lease:

2. drbob

drbob
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    That's because there is no tv ariel input the DHT-500. It only has a radio tuner (I don't know of any home cinema receiver with an integrated tv tuner). You have several options -

1) move the sky box into the home theatre room.

2) Run video and audio cables from the sky box to the home theatre room www.tvcables.co.uk have some good quality cables at reasonable prices. Though I wouldn't try this if the cables would need to be over 15m in length.