1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Denon DHT500 problem

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by sofasurfer, Mar 15, 2005.

  1. sofasurfer

    sofasurfer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    1,451
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +101
    I have not used my system for some time and toay when I switched it on it displays a 'PROTECT' message on the machine and then switches off.

    Anyone got any ideas how to sort it out?

    Many thanks
     
  2. nathanhill69

    nathanhill69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2004
    Messages:
    392
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    Check all your speaker cables, make sure that none of the bare wires are touching one another as this may cause a short.

    Nathan
     
  3. sofasurfer

    sofasurfer
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    1,451
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +101
    Did all that.Unhooked all the cables and only left the power in.Still got the same error message.

    Had to take it to my local dealer to send it back to Denon for them to have a look at it :thumbsdow
     
  4. kismet110

    kismet110
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,360
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +389
    I'm pretty sure this has come up in another thread on here in the past, not sure what the problem/resolution was but if you've now sent it away then fingeers crossed...

    ALI
     
  5. Conn

    Conn
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,056
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +170
    It has - I seem to recall it was the speaker problem Nathan mentioned. Chances are the same message covers different problems.
     
  6. dukegonz

    dukegonz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm currently installing a crestron networks and i need DHT 500SD modules for crestron. I tried the web and cant find it. Please anyone help me. THANKS
     
  7. mekonj

    mekonj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    153
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +4
    I'm looking for a non-working DHT500sd for a little project for my xbox media centre. If you don't manage to fix it, let me know and I'll be happy to pay you a small amount for the unit. If its still available, post in the 'for sale/wanted' thread and PM me.

    Cheers

    mekon
     
  8. kismet110

    kismet110
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,360
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London, UK
    Ratings:
    +389
    mekonj

    I think your post is aimed at the OP but coincidentally I have a faulty Denon 500SD at the moment, gets MECHA ERROR on the DVD drive and DSP ERROR for the sound. A company wants £300 to fix both things (£180 for the DPS only) so decided to get a Yamaha AV61 package as that's nearly £100 cheaper than getting it repaired :eek:

    PM me and maybe we can work something out for it?

    Cheers
     

Share This Page

Loading...