1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Denon DHT 500SD

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by meadow man, Jan 26, 2005.

1. meadow man

meadow man

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    As a complete novice, I recently installed and set up a Denon DHT 500SD all in one. When playing a video, the sound does not come through the surround speakers, only the TV speakers. Can anybody suggest a solution? Everything else works perfectly. Could there be a setting I have missed? I'm concerned that there is a fault with the unit.

Regards

2. wicket

wicket

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +10
    There are two methods of connection.

You can simply select tv on the 500 and it should draw the sound down from the tv. For some reason this doesn't work on my set up.

Instead I have phono cables from the tv running to the Denon's Video 1 input, this supplies sound from anything connected to the tv.

3. zmoosa1

zmoosa1

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +58
    meadow man - Try using the function button on the remote until 'TV' is diplayed on the receiver. I have my Denon connected via Scart and this does draw the sound from the TV, no phono cables needed.

Regards

4. meadow man

meadow man

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I do have the 'TV' mode selected when playing back the video, but no sound through the amp/surround sound. The sound works perfectly on DVD and TV, only when playing a video. I only get sound through the TV. Strange!

Regards,

5. nathanhill69

nathanhill69

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +19
    Can you not connect the video using phono leads between the Denon and the VCR and if this is how you have got it arranged have you selected analogue as that fuctions input on the Denon?

These are just possibilities off the top of my head.

Nathan