1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Denon DHT 500SD Video outputs

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by Gadget Daddy, Mar 31, 2005.

1. Gadget Daddy

Gadget Daddy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +185
    Hi,

Im new to all this kit and interconnects and are seeking to improve my freeview experience through the purchase of the above system and a LG RZ42px11 Plasma, both of which I have.

I bought a QED PCV1 Component cable thinking it would pipe all the video out through that cable but it appears that it will only display the DVD player....is this really the case???, I also tried by plugging an SVIDEO into it aswell but didnt get a video output to the TV this aswell produced nothing????? how queer..??? the only output which appears to display video is the scart socket..again is this the case or am I missing the obvious??, the only setting I can see is the DVD menu changing from SCART to COMPONENT, Im a bit fekked off as the cable was nearly £30 and I dont tend to watch DVDs mainly freeview as its a PVR aswell and I watch/play stuff through my modded XBox, Im reluctant to pay £20 - £30 for a decent cable again till I know what my really options are with the Denon.

Any help greatly received

Cheers
    Pete :(

2. Ged

Ged

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +17
    The 500 has a switchable outlet, Scart, S-video and component within the set up menu.
    Why not feed the PVR to the plasma via RGB scart and the Denon via the component ?
    I have looped the Denon thru the PVR to the RGB scart on the telly and all works well, I do not have component on the small telly. Try and compare the quality and you may find RGB good enough.

3. Gadget Daddy

Gadget Daddy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +185