Denon AVRX 2000.. Quick question

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by jacko_oafc, Feb 14, 2014.

Tags:
  1. jacko_oafc

    jacko_oafc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    662
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +42
    I have setup all the HDMI inputs to play audio from my satellite box, media player etc, but for the life in me i cannot setup audio to play from my Panasonic 50GT60 TV.
    I have connected the amp to hdmi input 2 on the TV.
    When i watch say a football match on ITV i want to play the audio via the AMP and speakers.
    Can anyone help ?
    Thanks.
     
  2. mtenga

    mtenga
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2013
    Messages:
    8,048
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Beckenham
    Ratings:
    +2,048
    If I understand correctly you want to use the audio from the TV and play it through the amp? If so you can utilise Audio Return Channel, assuming your TV is capable of that. Otherwise you can use an optical cable to do the same thing.
     
  3. PSM1

    PSM1
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    26,283
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,439
    Have you turned HDMI control on in the receiver and TV? For ARC to work you normally have to enable this.
     
  4. jacko_oafc

    jacko_oafc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    662
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +42
    Thanks guys.
    I have it enabled on the amp not sure how to enable it on the tv.
     
  5. dante01

    dante01
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    46,093
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +11,048
    Panasonic call their implementation of HDMI control Viera Link. Look in the HDMI settings of your TV and turn both Viera Link and ARC on.
     
  6. jacko_oafc

    jacko_oafc
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2006
    Messages:
    662
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +42
    Thanks.
    I have Viera link turned on but i see nothing about ARC in the menu.
     
  7. pistolpete1

    pistolpete1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,501
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +130
    Your hdmi cable ARC compatible? Older model aren't!
     
  8. dante01

    dante01
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    46,093
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +11,048
    No special cables are required for ARC. ARC will work with any HDMI cable.


    HDMI :: Manufacturer :: HDMI 1.4 :: Audio Return Channel
     

Share This Page

Loading...