Denon AVR1705

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Cheeseball, Sep 23, 2004.

Tags:
  1. Cheeseball

    Cheeseball
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Was hoping someone with or has heard the new Denon AVR1705 receiver could tell me if it is any good?
     
  2. WYNIR0

    WYNIR0
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +12
    Well, the reviews are all very good. I'm probably going to get the 1905 myself.
     
  3. Cheeseball

    Cheeseball
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have been unable to find any reviews online, could someone perhaps point in the right direction. :)
     
  4. probedb

    probedb
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,654
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +180
    Octobers What Hi-Fi? :)
     
  5. Cheeseball

    Cheeseball
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have just got the November issue so doubt I will be able to get the October one :( .
     
  6. Squintz

    Squintz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have this receiver and can not get the Composite to Component Upconverter feature to work. Has anyone used a receiver that has this feature and can get it to work. Basically what i have is my PC's ati card is outputing into the VCR composite input and i am trying to feed the Component Monitor output into my Infocus X1 Composite input. My infocus does not detect the signal
     
  7. andrew1810

    andrew1810
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,180
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    North East
    Ratings:
    +55
    I have just got the 1705 and think it is great!!

    The surround positioning is superb and has every feature I need.

    Remote is excellent, controls DVD, TV, CD etc

    If you have any questions, just ask and I will try to answer!!

    Andrew
     
  8. andhoey

    andhoey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    80
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi #7 . i was going to pair the 1705 up with the tannoy fx5.1s do you think that combi would sound ok. oh and can the remote be programmed for sky?
     
  9. andrew1810

    andrew1810
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,180
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    North East
    Ratings:
    +55
    Hi,

    I should have thought those speakers would be fine, have never tried them myself though.

    Have checked the manual and it does work with satellite boxes, no code for Sky though.

    Hope this helps

    Andrew
     
  10. andhoey

    andhoey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    80
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    suppose it depends on who makes the sky box ie pace ,amstrad.
    cheers andy.
     
  11. andrew1810

    andrew1810
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,180
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    North East
    Ratings:
    +55
    That would be my guess, don't know about Sky+ though.

    If you let me know the make, I can check the manual for you

    Andrew
     
  12. andhoey

    andhoey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    80
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    mines an amstrad but the amp was going to be for the brotherinlaw and he is just ordering sky so he could get anything. i was trying to make a decision on an amp for him , my pioneer has a learning remote and he liked that feature but i wasnt sure if the denon had learning capabilities. thanks andy.
     
  13. andrew1810

    andrew1810
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,180
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    North East
    Ratings:
    +55
    No problem, the Denon has a learning remote that has a switch for Audio and Video, so it can do CD, MD, DVD, Video and Tuner with switches for each.

    It also has a "push-through" feature so you can use the TV, DVD and Amp with the remote on the same setting.

    Plus, its a great amp!!!

    Andrew
     
  14. saturn

    saturn
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you sure you have got it the right way round? I think it probably does Component to Composite conversions (down sampling).

    As far as I can tell, only the £1000+ recievers are able to do up conversion.

    I have no proof of this, as I am still looking for my first reciever. I am thinking of getting the Denon 1905 and have been researching this functionality, although cant find any absolute evidence.

    Does anyone know if down sampling from Component to SVID/Composite is possible, and what about upconversion at this price range???

    Also I dont think you meant to say you are outputing from the Component Monitor output to your Infocus X1 Composite input, as that would mean you will have 2 cables that arnt even connected. :)
     
  15. andhoey

    andhoey
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2004
    Messages:
    80
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    it says on the denon website that the 1905 does upconversion to component from s-video
     
  16. ab1385

    ab1385
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    1,321
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Cardiff
    Ratings:
    +74
    Are you sure its not Composite to S-Video? That would make sense, I think the 2805 and 3805 are the only Denon receivers that do Composite/S-Video -> Component upconversion...
     
  17. meoq

    meoq
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry if these questions are a bit noob - i'd appreciate any help!

    1) Is it true the AVR1705 only has 1 optical input? Isn't that a bit low? AV-Land says it has 3, but on Denon's website it seems to say only 1..

    2) If a receiver like this supports Dolby Prologic IIx, does it also support regular Dolby Prologic II?

    3) The AVR1705 powers 6 channels, right? Is that enough for a 6.1 surround sound setup? Or only 5.1? The AVR1905 supports 7 channels, so I'm wondering if I need it for a true 6.1 setup.

    Many thanks for any answers..
     
  18. andrew1810

    andrew1810
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,180
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    North East
    Ratings:
    +55
    1) It has 2 on the back (just checked) and I think one on the front, but I haven't managed to open the damn cover yet!!!

    2) Yes, it has standard plII

    3) Yes, it has 6.1, I have a 6.1 setup using it now

    Hope this all helps, anything else, just ask

    Andrew
     
  19. meoq

    meoq
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sweet, thanks for the answers. If anyone knows if there's a third optical-in on the front, I'd be delighted to hear about it. I really need 3 optical inputs. How many coaxial has it got?

    Thanks again :thumbsup:
     
  20. andrew1810

    andrew1810
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,180
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    North East
    Ratings:
    +55
    It has 1 coax on the back with the two optical.

    If anyone knows how to open the stupid cover on the front, please let me know!!!

    Andrew
     
  21. saturn

    saturn
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Here we see a 1705

    [​IMG]

    As you can see it doesn’t have an optical input on the front.

    You will need to get the 1905 for that

    [​IMG]

    As for removing the cap thingy, I found wobbling it up and down seemed to work.
     
  22. saturn

    saturn
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    And to answer the questions regarding up and down conversion. According to the manual the following conversions can be done.

    Composite -> Svid
    Svid -> Composite

    Component cannot be converted into anything (this means that I wasted £30 on a cable I now have no use for :( )
     
  23. rob27

    rob27

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    162
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    Hi,

    Thinking about the 1705....

    I need a bit of help as i have never done this sort of thing before :blush:

    Bits of kit intending to buy/got.

    Tosh 32ZP48
    Tosh 340 Free
    Pioneer DVR 220S DVD Recorder
    Telewest Digi Box
    Ms Xbox
    Denon AVR-1705.

    Now tell me if this is wrong about connecting it up...

    - Toshiba 340 component out to Denon component in.
    - Toshiba 340 digi out to Denon Digi in.

    - Pioneer DVD Recorder Composite out to Denon Composite in.

    - MS Xbox Component to Denon Component in.
    - MS Xbox Digi out to Denon Digi in.

    -Telewest Digi box Scart to Denon Composite in.

    Then...

    Denon Composite out to Tosh 32ZP48 Composite in
    Denon Component out to Tosh 32ZP48 Component in
    Denon Digi out to Tosh 32ZP48

    Then connect up surround sound speakers...

    Please can you let me know if this is right... :confused: got to get a few cables :eek:

    Cheers
    Rob.
     
  24. palostick

    palostick
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    does the denon have svhs?

    does the dvd recorder output svhs out a scart? If so you can go s-vhs out on the dvd recorder to svhs in on the denon (if it's got it)
     
  25. rob27

    rob27

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2004
    Messages:
    162
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    Yeah the Denon does S-Video.. is that what you meant... or did you mean svhs (higher quality vhs)..

    But have noticed that the Denon doesnt have a digi out !! ? or am i being a donkey...

    Rob
     
  26. palostick

    palostick
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    s video/s-svhs the same thing.

    Does your dvd recorder output s-video/svhs on one of the scarts (or have a seperate s video out jack) if so you'll get a much better picture with this than composite.
     
  27. azThazehT

    azThazehT
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

    I'm planning to buy 1705 too and I've searched much. I downloaded 3 manuals from (if I remember correctly) uk, canada and germany denon sites. And on one of these it doesnt say anything about upconversion but on the other two, it writes that there are component upconversions from both s-video and composite. So i pretty much believe that it upconverts to component. If anyone is still unsure, you can check this pdf from denon canada site here -> http://www.denon.ca/hapdfs/avr1705lit.pdf
    correction--> Those are not manuals but product information pdf's
     
  28. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,858
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,124
    Welcome to the forums :thumbsup:

    That's odd, I thought the 1705 didn't have video conversion :confused:
     
  29. MikeKay1976

    MikeKay1976
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    7,917
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,758

    Hi sorry to dig up such an old thread but can anyone advice on how to do this?

    the following is a cut & paste about the AVR1705, so from what i can see i should be able to get svideo - component conversion

    cheers

    M.

    http://www.hifix.co.uk/sitemap/denon/denon-avr-1705-silver.html

    Video Conversion of Composite to S-Video and/or to Component
     
  30. Algor777

    Algor777
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    How can I get the composite-svideo conversion working?

    I connected a composite video cable from Toshiba SD-340E DVD to AVR-1705 and from it a svideo cable to the television. It just did not work.
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice