Denon avr-x4000

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by dlemon, Feb 25, 2014.

Tags:
  1. dlemon

dlemon

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    Hi all,
    Just picked up my denon x4000 today about 4.00pm, hooked it up ran the xt32, done the update and ran the Killer's blu-ray in DTS-MA-HD,
    I'm only a novice and wouldn't really say I know a lot about av but 1st impression fantastic,
    Really detailed
    Crisp
    Punchy
    Clear as whistle
    And very sharp at a higher volumes,
    Running it with Kef 3005se, guy in shop said change your front L&R to a decent set of book shelf speakers and it would be a dramatic change again, I know there is a run in period on things like this, but really pleased after a few hours, but what I did notice was that all the speaker levels were set very low, like L&R set at -6, centre level -7, surrounds set at -7 and sub set at -9.5, is this the norm or do I manually increase them,
    but a big step up from Onkyo 609 me thinks
    Thanks

2. dante01

dante01
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +11,058
    The levels are set so that all of the speakers output the same level as measured from your listening position. No, do not alter these levels or the speakers will no longer be calibrated correctly. There's nothing wrong with the levels you've posted. If you do wish to manually adjust them then I'd suggest you use a handheld SPL metre to check the levels and in order to ensure the levels are still balanced in relation to one another, but I see no reason for you to adjust the levels, although the sub's level does indicate that you might want to reduce the sub's own onboard volume and run the calibration again? The level suggests the sub's volume is set a little too high so the amp is having to decrease the level of the signal going out to it in order for its resulting output to achieve the associated reference level.