DENON AVR-X2700H BOSE AM10 PASSIVE SUBWOOFER

apollian

Novice Member
Hey guys,

I've been using a AVR DENON 2000 for the last 8 years with the passive subwoofer from my Bose AM10s. And just upgraded to a Denon avr-x2700h, I have tried nearly every thing to get them working and the bass is just not there.

Denon believes that these new receivers don't support passive subs anymore, which I find hard to believe since I've been using the same set up for almost a decade.
So what are my options? Can I swap out the bass module for a AM15 powered subwoofer? Or just add another subwoofer pre out.

rccarguy2

Burn the Bose speakers and subwoofer and buy new speakers and active sub.

Denon is correct a avr won't power a passive sub

Jay53

Is the AM10 a 5 main outputs from the AVR go into the sub and then the 5 satellite speakers come off the back of the sub? I.e. it's a 5.0 system where you specify all speakers are large, no sub and let the AM10 do the filtering

In which case how would these latest AVRs not be able to power that?

rccarguy2

Your avr does room EQ as well, as does the sub module

Just buy new speakers and sub

apollian

Novice Member
Is the AM10 a 5 main outputs from the AVR go into the sub and then the 5 satellite speakers come off the back of the sub? I.e. it's a 5.0 system where you specify all speakers are large, no sub and let the AM10 do the filtering

In which case how would these latest AVRs not be able to power that?
Yes that's correct, I used a Denon AVR 2000 and it's worked well there. I've set the front speakers to large as that's where most of the pass through is giving the Sub power. It sounds Improved biy no where near what I had before.

rccarguy2

You need to set subwoofer to off, and other speakers set to large

Jay53

As above, it's vital that it is set no sub, all speakers large

Otherwise if the avr told there is a sub, it will direct any low frequencies for speakers still set to small plus the LFE channel output to a non existent sub :(