1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Denon Avr 2105

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by neal666, Jan 5, 2005.

Tags:
  1. neal666

    neal666
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    hi guys

    please help.
    i have the above avr and have just orderd a plasma with component in. can i connect my dvd and ntl digital to svideo inputs and output them via component to the plasma? any help would be great
     
  2. neal666

    neal666
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    please ?
     
  3. AgentCool

    AgentCool
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,649
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +184
    From what I have read about this amp I would say that you can and it will upscale resolution as well.
     
  4. neal666

    neal666
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    anyone else who might know ?
     
  5. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,340
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +834
    It will upconvert from S-Video to Component but it won't increase the resolution as it has no built-in scaling. The only Denon AV Amp/Receiver with scaling (via HDMI/DVI) is the new Flagship A1XV.
     
  6. neal666

    neal666
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    196
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    sorry for being thick but does this just mean i will only get the s-video resolution from the component cable
     
  7. tij303

    tij303
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2003
    Messages:
    102
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    neal666 I have been searching a lot of threads on this subject as I have a not disimilar problem - getting either an s video or a.n.other signal into the component input of a plasma prerably via the amp. I appreciate Jace says that the denon will upscale your s video to component but my understanding was that you would need to either a 2805 or 3805 for conversion. Having looked at the tech specs on superfi :blush: for the 2105 it seems to bear this out. (They also have downloadable pdf files for the manuals and brochures on most amps which I found helpful.)

    The nearest thing I have found (and ordered) at that price bracket is the yamaha dsp ax750 (£369 from empiredirect) which will convert all manner of signals both up and down. The review says that the conversion is 'nothing special' but I dont know if the s-video upscale is actually a true component feed signal - I think there is always a bit of degradation and maybe it depends on your eye sight or the size of your anorak ! :) Apparently if the source is orginally component fed through an amp and out again it has no effect on the signal.

    Finally another point to consider is lip syncing on plasmas displaying sky - the Yamaha has an audio delay feature that helps compensate for this as well so it might be more of what you need. You dont mention which plasma you are buying but mine is a panny pw6 and apparently suffers quite acutely with sky.
     
  8. patr1ck

    patr1ck
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    247
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +26
    The confusion with the 2105 arises because the U.S. version does convert from S-Video to Component. Unfortunately we only get this from the 2805 upwards.

    Pat
     
  9. SpudGunMan

    SpudGunMan
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    (Me=USA)

    i have a 1905 and it will "up-convert" to any higher quality. It will also down convert.

    It will not scale (holy moly that would be amazing if they put that in a afordable unit)
     

Share This Page

Loading...