Denon AVC-A1SE onscreen display. HELP!!

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Jim Robson, Jun 5, 2001.

Tags:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jim Robson

    Jim Robson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    245
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Originally from the wonderful Granite City, Aberde
    Ratings:
    +1
    :(Blush! I just collected my new Denon AVC-A1SE today. Please don't suggest I ask the dealer!! OK, I've plugged everything in and have even been listening to Classic FM on Sky Digital in DTS-Neo 6 Music mode. I also eventually found out how to make the DVD player output sound by selecting the default coax 2 (instead of 1 that I had it plugged into!) and watched a test DVD in 6.1 etc. All seven speakers work very well too! My problem is that I'm not sure how to activate the onscreen display. I've connected an S-video lead from the TV to the TV S-video socket on the Denon and fiddled about with the TV but can't see the display. My TV is a Toshiba 56" RPTV. Can any kind soul lead me through the (no doubt) very simple path to success, please?? Hopefully it's just the same as a Denon 3801? Without this display I can't set anything up at all!!

    Regards

    Jim :confused:
     
  2. MarkB

    MarkB
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000
    Messages:
    737
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Suffolk, England
    Ratings:
    +26
    Jim
    Congratulations on your new purchase.

    I can point you towards a couple of AVC-A1SE things that could prevent you from seeing the OSD, I can't really help for the TV.

    1. Make sure that the video circuit is active, it can be deactivated to increase sound quality. On the front panel there is a button marked "VIDEO ON/OFF". Press it and ensure that the display reports that the video circuit is active.

    2. Make sure that the outputs that you are using are the MONITOR OUT-1 jacks and not the MONITOR OUT-2 jacks – no on screen displays are output from these jacks. Also, make sure that you have not plugged your monitor lead onto the TV input jacks.

    3. If you have just a composite feed going into the Denon, you will only get on screen displays output from the composite MONITOR OUT-1 jack.

    Hope that one of those is the cure – if not then let us know.
     
  3. Jim Robson

    Jim Robson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    245
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Originally from the wonderful Granite City, Aberde
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Mark! :)

    Thanks for the advice and the congratulations. To think I thought my Sony 930 was complicated!

    I'm just off to London in a few minutes (by train, groan!) but I'll have another go tonight. It must be something really simple but then I'm no expert which is a shame really as I'm sure I will never get the best out of my new beast. Still, as long as it sounds good enough to me I suppose that'll suffice.

    I have quite a few DVD's I've not played yet just so I can hear them in THX-EX and DTS-ES Discrete. Believe it or not I haven't even watched Gladiator yet, and I bought it as soon as it came out! I also have Toy Story 2, Seven (the new Platinum Edition) and Chicken Run!

    Regards

    Jim :D
     
  4. Jim Robson

    Jim Robson
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    245
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Originally from the wonderful Granite City, Aberde
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks Mark, I now have a working OSD. I had the S-video lead plugged into the wrong jack on the Denon TV-In, instead of Monitor 1-Out. It was just as you said so, silly me!

    The only trouble is that there are now so many parameters to play with but at least I've set up the delay/speaker distance correctly!!

    Regards

    Jim :D
     
  5. MarkB

    MarkB
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000
    Messages:
    737
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Suffolk, England
    Ratings:
    +26
    No problem.
    Mark
     
  6. skywalker1010

    skywalker1010
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    280
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +22
    Thought I would resurrect an old thread on my search rather than start another.

    I have had the Denon AVC-A1SE since launch and have recently moved all my set up around with a new LCD, the Samsung LE52F96BD.

    Long story short, I have been trying to get the Denon's OSD up using a S-Video cable to the Samsung all bloomin weekend:rolleyes:

    I simply cannot get the OSD up, when using S-Video input selection on the Samsung. I am using Monitor 1 out and currently just have my SkyHD box inputting sound over Optical 3.

    I have tried every which way, I have done this before, so I know it works, but on a Toshiba LCD.

    Alternatively, I heard there was a way to use the Denon's LED screen to set this up. I am after speaker size, room size, crossover. I can normally change Surround Parameters and fiddle with the speaker levels, but I think you can go deeper with the right buttons?

    Please help anyone.... this is driving me nuts.:devil:
     
  7. skywalker1010

    skywalker1010
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    280
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +22
  8. Flimber

    Flimber
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    13,692
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,477
    Thread is seven years old....best start a new'un.
     
  9. skywalker1010

    skywalker1010
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    280
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Ratings:
    +22
    I naturally thought that resurrecting an old thread with very similar topic was better than starting another.

    But as moderator you are the boss :devil:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice