1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Denon AVC-A10SE - Dolby 5.1 Issue

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Gliese 581c, Oct 18, 2004.

Tags:
  1. Gliese 581c

    Gliese 581c
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    7,806
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    On AVForums
    Ratings:
    +519
    Guys, I'm hoping one of you can help, I seem to have lost my ddigital sound. When I put in a dvd in my denon a11 player all lights on the player show 5.1 is being output but my receiver is just outputing it as pro logic. I've hard reset the receiver and still its pro logic, when i change to auto on the amp or thx it still will only output pro logic... im stuck, it was working fine only a few days ago and suddenly its stopped.

    Right now im going to replace my a11 with my old arcam dv88p to see how that goes...

    Does anyone have any ideas ? :(
     
  2. Gliese 581c

    Gliese 581c
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    7,806
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    On AVForums
    Ratings:
    +519
    damn, it works perfect with my arcam dvd player... it seems to be my A11
     
  3. Arcangel

    Arcangel
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is the player outputting a BITSTREAM signal for Dolby/DTS? Check it's not set to PCM.
     
  4. Gliese 581c

    Gliese 581c
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    7,806
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    On AVForums
    Ratings:
    +519
    arcangel, firstly, thanks for replying.... there seems to be only 2 settings for that... 1 Normal and 2 PCM
     
  5. tom_nieto

    tom_nieto
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    418
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Brighton
    Ratings:
    +1
    My 3802 suddenly stopped recognising DD for some reason. A master reset solved the problem, but you have to put in all the settings again.
     
  6. Gliese 581c

    Gliese 581c
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    7,806
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    On AVForums
    Ratings:
    +519
    thats the thing tom, the receiver is fine, my 2nd dvd player (arcam dv88p) works fine and dd5.1 works as it should. Its only when i plug up the a11 that it doesnt work.

    I tried hard resets of the amp 1st of all anyway and also of the dvd player, both didnt work, even tried a firmware upgrade on the all, that didnt help either.
     
  7. Gliese 581c

    Gliese 581c
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    7,806
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    On AVForums
    Ratings:
    +519
    got it !!! it was my audio setting, had it set to PCM, but then again, ive never changed it or adjusted that.

    archangel, if you werent so far away i could kiss ya.... well, u know hehe

    Big thanks to those who replied to help me out.
     
  8. jimcarney

    jimcarney
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2001
    Messages:
    641
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    DOWNPATRICK CO DOWN
    Ratings:
    +3
    Little fingers perhaps,happened to me after a vist from my Nephew ,he had pressed the analogue switch resetting to Auto solved the problem ,now I check after every vist spent hours trying to sort it out the first time!! :suicide:
     
  9. Gliese 581c

    Gliese 581c
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    7,806
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    On AVForums
    Ratings:
    +519
    I'll check with my other half, never thought of asking her, she always shouts me to 'get the sound working' when she plays a dvd, so who knows, maybe she did press something she shouldnt have.
     

Share This Page

Loading...