Denon AV1602 time to retire?

stubod

Standard Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

A long long time ago I purchased a Denon AV1602 for home cinema and cd playing. I have just upgraded the TV to a new Samsung (4k), with Samsung HD blue ray player and I now find the amp does not have sufficient input ports. (Pre HDMI). Can anybody recommend a suitable replacement AV amp that is also good for playing cd's / Hi Fi?. (£500 max..I don't really want to go back to 2 separate amps). Alternatively is it possible to convert the TV optical "out" into digital co-axial "in"..(I have this input spare on the Denon at the mo... )..sorry for the dumb questions but I am a bit of an AV novice....many thanks for any help....

Last edited:
Well, this might work, but I have no experience of using one:

POF-830 - Optical-to-Coaxial Audio Converter - Optical: Amazon.co.uk: Electronics

If you do want a new AVR, you have a lot of choice up to £500. eg, Yamaha / Denon / Pioneer / Onkyo / Sony. They will all be quite similar in terms of functionality. Are you happy with the Denon 'sound' in which case you could stick to a Denon. Or you could go and demo some new AVR's at a local dealer (eg Richer Sounds) to see what sounds nice to you. What speakers do you have?

— As an Amazon Associate, AVForums earns from qualifying purchases —
Time to buy new. Only HDMI from your blu ray player will allow you to get HD sound, ie, Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD MA. Optical only allows for SD 5.1. A new receiver will also allow you to place Atmos speakers to get a full immersive sound. You would still be able to use optical from the TV to the receiver (that would still be SD sound).

As for CD and stereo performance I strongly suggest you go and audition receivers in your budget range. I'm perfectly happy with CDs with my Denon X6200, the new version, X6300 would set you back £1700.