1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Denon+Arcam = my findings

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by CrispyXUK, Nov 13, 2003.

Tags:
  1. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    Hi all,

    After adding an Arcam Alpha 9 Stereo integrated to my denon 3802 with analog from Pioneer 626 also M-Audio Revo using asio to arcam and pre-out from denon to pre-in(tape 2) on the Arcam I think I need you lots opinion.

    Basically with double blind tests using;
    Groove Armada-Chicago (SACD cd layer)
    Radiohead-There There
    Radiohead-Fake Plastic Trees
    Massive Attack-Group Four
    Blur-Coffee&TV

    Results:- No difference whatsoever except slight (I meen slight) more bass from the Arcam.

    Any ideas on what to do next? should I buy a decent CD player even though I did try the revo? use the Arcam as a power amp and bi-wire? sell the lot and get a receiver that plays music better? or just give up :)?

    any advice would be welcome, but remember I'm skint, but arent we all with this hobby?
     
  2. dood

    dood
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2000
    Messages:
    943
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Hobart
    Ratings:
    +38
    I'm very surprised. Using the 626 would be a weak link. Using any source connected to the denon would also not yield much difference. I am certain that a good CD player connected directly into the arcam would sound a lot better than playing through the denon. If you want to use your 626 as a source you may want to add a DAC which would then go straight into the arcam.
     
  3. Noodle

    Noodle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +1
    Did you not test it before buying???
     
  4. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    Well I bought it from one of the users on this forum for a good price.

    Overall it does sound better with the more powerful amplification but we are talking mi-nute differences here, but i'd have thought that going analog straight to the Arcam would have an effect too which it doesn't :(

    Any recommendations for a cd player?
     
  5. Noodle

    Noodle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +1
    Just to confirm, have you got a direct link from your player to the Arcam (so it works even if the denon is turned off)?
     
  6. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    Yes that is correct
     
  7. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    But isnt the revo as good as a mid-range cd player?
     
  8. Noodle

    Noodle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +1
    I don't know anything about the revo but if you really can't hear much of a difference with either device now mate, I doubt buying a new CDP will help much. If you got a good deal for it in the first place, I'd sell it on here again and try a new CD player instead.
     
  9. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    How about if I built an audio pc with an RME card in it?
     
  10. Noodle

    Noodle
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    577
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Peterborough
    Ratings:
    +1
  11. overkill

    overkill
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,776
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Murkeyside
    Ratings:
    +1,192
    First, no PC card can produce equvialent quality sound to a dedicated CD player. I have an Audigy2, and 24bit, 96khz beast though it is, my standalone CD player beats it, and the PC's disk player, hands down.

    I have an Arcam 9 and it's amongst the best sub £500 power amps you can buy. If you're not getting a more open, revealing sound, with a real boost in detail then somethings badly wrong!

    I think you're probably right in that you need a dedicated, quality front end for your set-up. To be honest I don't use my AV amp through it as these aren't (until you spend BIG bucks) as good as pure stereo amps when it comes to music replay.

    Let us have your budget and we can make a few suggestions for a CD player, or two.
     
  12. zoolander

    zoolander
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I too think that your source (dvd player) is letting your new stereo amp down.Also,i see you have linked the arcam with your AV amp which means that you are in fact using your Denons pre section to drive the power amps section of the arcam.All this adds to very little improvement in sound:nono: Ask Pbirkett about his soundcard-he has owned a Dac and dvd transport combo which beat many dedicated cd players at twice the rpice and now runs a Terratec sound card which he claims to be awesome.Read about it on HFC forums.A hot budget bargain at the moment is the M-audio super DAC which is availible for under £200.Pioneer dvd players are a popular choice when it comes down to transports.Dont forget a DAC can enhance all your digtal source such as minidisc,sky digital etc.THE cream of the crop cd players at a reasonable price are:Arcam cd82,Marantz cd6000Ki sig, cyrus cd6 and cd8 especially.Any of those will show vast improvements over your Pioneer.

    Hths

    zoolander:D
     
  13. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    Audigy Soundcards resample audio badly, but the RME DIGI PAD will whipe the ass of a lot of high end CD Players.

    My budget is around £200-£300 (RME Souncard is £200 alone)

    Do you think my Arcam Alpha 9 should sound better than my Denon by default?
     
  14. tom_nieto

    tom_nieto
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2003
    Messages:
    418
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Brighton
    Ratings:
    +1
    you can get a really nice CD player for £200-£300
     
  15. overkill

    overkill
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,776
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Murkeyside
    Ratings:
    +1,192
    Yes. The 3802 is fine AV amp but the Arcam 9 should beat it for standard CD replay when linked to a Stereo pre-amp.
     
  16. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    Sorry, this is an Arcam Alpha 9 Integrated amp
     
  17. MarkE19

    MarkE19
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2002
    Messages:
    17,109
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Rainham Essex
    Ratings:
    +2,381
    The Arcam Alpha 9 should wipe the floor with the 3802 for sterio playback.
    I've got the Alpha 8 and the improvement that this gave me over CD replay via the 3802 was stunning. Upgrading to the Arcam CD73t CD player then improved things still further.
    Plug the analogue outputs from the DVD player into an input on the Alpha 9 and see how much improvement you get over feeding the DVD via 3802 (if not done this way already). All my HiFi is plugged directly into my Arcam and the 3802 is only used for TV (DPL2) and DVD's. The 3802 is not part of my system when listening to music.

    Mark.
     
  18. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    Yes this is what I am doing at present and there is no difference :(
     
  19. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    There is also a lot of noise when processor mode is enaged, has anyone experienced this?
     
  20. cameronl

    cameronl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +11
    hi there, from what I've heard - the new hammerfall RME is better than some lexicon cd players, I know that is the way I'm heading next.

    An audigy 2 aint even in the same league!

    CaM
     
  21. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    I was looking at the RME DIGI 96/8 PAD which you can get for about £212 which is also supposed to be great.

    Might sell the Alpha 9 and get an Arcam Diva a75+ instead
     
  22. cameronl

    cameronl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +11
    hi there, I hear the RME 9632 is even better - plus it gives you the ability (with an add on board) to output 4 different tracks to 4 different amps (around your home?) thus giving you multi-zone/multi source music in the furture - if that is your type of thing?

    CaM
     
  23. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    Is the sound quality any better as im only interested in outputing to one amp.
     
  24. cameronl

    cameronl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +11
    h there, the avsforum is where all the experts are on this card - but from what I hear it is better - it is the one I am getting.

    CaM
     
  25. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,714
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +33
    were are you getting it from sir?
     
  26. cameronl

    cameronl
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    1,146
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +11
    hi there, it can be ordered online from a lot of places - do a quick search and you will be able to find it. I hear it is cheaper buying it from germany if you can.

    thanks

    CaM
     

Share This Page

Loading...