1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Denon A1sr

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by installer09, Dec 7, 2002.

Tags:
  1. installer09

    installer09
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    415
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SWINDON ,WILTS
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just got one of these , amazing amp but a bit annoyed not to be able to connect banana plugs to it , I had to cut of my expensive airlock plugs :( , it must be a new modification because ive seen A1SR,s with 4mm sockets before.
     
  2. Gliese 581c

    Gliese 581c
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Messages:
    7,806
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    On AVForums
    Ratings:
    +519
    :(

    why dont you head on over to the hardware classifieds, I may be interested in taking them from you if your not needing them anymore ?

    :)
     
  3. installer09

    installer09
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    415
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SWINDON ,WILTS
    Ratings:
    +0
    He He , once they have been used you cant use them again :(
     
  4. UrbanT

    UrbanT
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    12,851
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hants
    Ratings:
    +3,032
    You are kidding right?

    The A1SR has tightly fitting black plugs at the end of the plugs that don't look like they come out.

    You need to get a sharp knife or pointed object and force them out. I've never seen an A1SE or A1SR (I have had both, currently A1SR) which doesnt have this.

    have a check and let us know
     
  5. installer09

    installer09
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    415
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SWINDON ,WILTS
    Ratings:
    +0
    My A1SR doesnt have black plugs ( my AVC-10SE did) it has the same red and black screw connectors , but the hole down the middle isnt capped of and i guess its about 3mm in diameter. Some additional paperwork came with the amp saying it had the second edition denon link , so i guess its the latest model. I phoned Haydon Labs up and they said it was illegal to fit 4mm banana sockets!
     
  6. UrbanT

    UrbanT
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    12,851
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Aldershot, Hants
    Ratings:
    +3,032
    Now thats a bugger! Would drive me mad having to screw in individual wires for all speakers. You have my sympathy!! :(
     
  7. dts_boy

    dts_boy
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,515
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Manchester suburbs...
    Ratings:
    +141
    quick, everyone cut off their plugs before the cops turn up!:D
     
  8. Doomlord_uk

    Doomlord_uk
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2002
    Messages:
    2,688
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Australia
    Ratings:
    +252
    4mm banana plugs are indeed illegal thanks to your supreme socialist overlords over in Brussels. For the those who missed the saga, it started when some poor Albanian kid stuck an audio lead into the mains electricity socket in his home. He died, sadly. Now, what you need to bear in mind, and what the EU fascists didn't, is that a) UK household wiring standards are the safest in the world, b) you couldn't possibly stick a banana plug, or any other kind, into the live or neutral sockets anyway and c) Albania is a poor, east-european country with very poor wiring standards. In their infinite wisdom the EU oppressors and denyors of common sense and high standards ruled that obviously it was the banana plug that was at fault, not Albanian wiring, the kid or his parents. What it is with the EU and bananas I don't know... <sigh>

    If you can't fit bananas into your A1SR that's a damn shame! If you can... then that is also a shame!!! :D

    And you can't blame Hayden Labs for not recommending you break the law... for all they know, you have Albanian wiring in your home...
     
  9. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    I thought it was a Belgian child. I didn't think Albania was part of the EU, so therefore doesn't matter.:D
     
  10. installer09

    installer09
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    415
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SWINDON ,WILTS
    Ratings:
    +0
    Phoned up Sound and Vision today (where I bought it from) they said it was the latest UK model from Haydon Labs. Called Haydon Labs who said all UK amps have blanked off banana sockets , and Sound and Vision are not a thx ultra dealership . They said the model I have would have come from Germany and has got 2mm sockets ,apart from that it is identical to the UK model. I also last week recieved a A11SR from Discount Electrical uk , this had the same sockets on it, it was faulty though and had to be returned. According to Haydon Labs this is how some stores can sell them so cheap , my local Audio T dealer ,who I often do work for said they pay more for A1's then I had been quoted!
     

Share This Page

Loading...