Denon A11 - Panny AE300 DVI-D HELP !

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by gazza166, May 24, 2005.

  1. gazza166

    gazza166
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    765
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Ratings:
    +23
    Running my Denon A11 into my Panasonic AE300 via rgb component I am very happy with the picture, but having a read a few articles on the 'hierarchy' of connections it says DVI-D should be better.

    I duly bought a reasonable quality 3m DVI-D cable but cannot get a picture. I've tried everything I can think of but all to no avail. Anyone else running this setup have the same problems, and if so have they resolved them ?

    Any tips/hints/opinions would be much appreicated :hiya:
     
  2. Kefmad Rich

    Kefmad Rich
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2002
    Messages:
    178
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi,

    I use my A11 through a AE-500 and have not had any problems.

    I presume that you have selected the DVI mode on the A11 menu.

    I would try turning on the PJ selecting the DVI input then turn on the A11 and select DVI.

    This always works for me.

    Regards

    Richie.
     
  3. Sigismund

    Sigismund
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    5,376
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +102
    gazza - I think I'm right in saying that the AE300 doesn't support HDCP, so it won't output an image via DVi using the Denon.
     
  4. Thunder

    Thunder
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2004
    Messages:
    1,763
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Ratings:
    +14
    I'm pretty sure the above is correct. If one of the two components has the HDCP protocol then it won't work with the one that dosn't :mad: Its a shame. I believe the AE500 does have a HDCP compliant DVI input :) Don't worry too much though as digital isn't always best ;) As long as the analogue output of your DVD player is top notch there will be very little if any difference :smashin:
     
  5. gazza166

    gazza166
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    765
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Ratings:
    +23
    Thanks guys - I'll work on the principle Thunder's right and I wouldn't get any improvement anyway.

    Thanks again :smashin:
     
  6. Cable Monkey

    Cable Monkey
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    3,494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +205
    I have a HDCP compliant Denon 2910 and a non compliant Hitachi 32PD5200 and it works fine via DVI. It should only fail to work if the source material is HDCP protected so my instinct is Thunder is wrong about that being the general rule. However I can't present an example where that particular hardware works together...
     
  7. gazza166

    gazza166
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    765
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Plymouth
    Ratings:
    +23
    So how do I find out if a source is HDCP protected :confused:
     
  8. Cable Monkey

    Cable Monkey
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    3,494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +205
    If my understanding is correct, nothing sold or transmitted in the UK is protected just yet. (You cannot yet pick up high definition versions of films in HMV or order films/programming from Sky/Cable). High definition DVD's (in the true sense) may not make an appearance until Blue Ray media is available. The only high definition media I have seen personally is HDWMV and that obtains permission to play over an internet connection, granting your pc a license of a number of days to play it before expiring. HDCP is essentially future proofing and should not affect your ability to play standard definition material. I think you should be able to play unprotected high definition material as well if I have understood what I have read.
     
  9. Crustyloafer

    Crustyloafer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    9,517
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Edinburgh
    Ratings:
    +1,239
    HDCP is an ecryption method used to tranfer digital video from a HDCP compliant DVI/HDMI source device to any HDCP enabled DVI/HDMI display device. If you plug a HDCP enabled source into a no HDCP compliant display it will not work. If you plug a non HDCP compliant source, eg a HTPC, into a HDCP compliant display it will still still work as there is no protection to the data stream from the source and the display will show it anyway.

    Cable monkey: If you are running a Denon DVD-2910 into a Hitachi Television with a DVI socket then it MUST be HDCP compliant if you are getting a picture, regardless of of what Hitahci's specs say.

    HDCP protection has nothing to do with the actual disc or source material at all, only the device used to read the source material.

    See here for a better run down:

    http://www.digitalconnection.com/FAQ/HDTV_12.asp
     
  10. Nic Rhodes

    Nic Rhodes
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Messages:
    17,133
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Cumbria
    Ratings:
    +1,277
    Crusty L and Thunder are correct. HDCP is applied to every DVD with copy protection (macrovision), this means 99% of all DVDs, certainly all the films etc. If it works HDCP is on the machine.
     
  11. Cable Monkey

    Cable Monkey
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    3,494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +205
    I stand corrected. And more confused than ever!
     

Share This Page

Loading...