1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

DENON 500 - for dummies

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by kentish man, Feb 2, 2005.

1. kentish man

kentish man

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    :hiya: excuse my ignorance. I have today set up my Denon 500. ITS THE DADDY I have never owned a hifi before, so am completely in the dark concerning connections, amps etc. Anyhow. I seem to have set it up fine! - Right - the easy stuff has been done. I have connected the Denon via a SCART to the back of my LCD. It works. I can have a rest! But now i wonder what you guys are all talking about, as i'm new to this whole technology, never even had a DVD. So my questions are for any kind soul that could care to answer me: (i have looked all over the site b.t.w)

Assume my TV is brand new & has this: (LG lcd 32"- with 2 scart (AV sockets i think?), + component sockets (red, green & blue), s-video, and "L"+"R" sockets)

To get the best out of the system :

1 - Do i use SCART to connect Dennon to TV or 'component cables' whatever they are:
    http://www.tvcables.co.uk/cgi-bin/tvcables/CP001.html

2 - assuming that i do use component (because its better quality?) - where do i plug sky+ into? - is the back of the TV in spare scart socket or the back of the denon using scart?

3 - is that it or do i have to worry about s-video and the L and R sockets on the back of my TV - i dont know what they are for?

sorry, its all greek to me. I could just stick with the scart as it is i suppose, but want to make sure im not missing anything... thanks so much, pointers to other threads would be welcomed.

2. Conn

Conn

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +170
    I sadly lack the LCD and Sky+, but I think this is correct -

1. Connect the Denon via Component, it is the best connection and allows you to take advantage of the Progressive Scan