1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Denon 3910 - Progressive/Interlaced Question

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by robbiet, Dec 4, 2004.

1. robbiet

robbiet

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am new to all of this so apologies if I am asking a really silly question.

I have just purchased a Denon 3910 and have a Tosh 32ZD26 TV. I have the 3910 connected via component output (Supra cable) but the Toshiba will only show a picture if the DVD is setup to output an interlaced picture rather than a progressive one. My TV says on the front progressive scan and there is a menu option for it. This menu option disappears when on Ext4 (the component input) but only when the DVD is set to progressive.

I thought progressive was better than interlaced and am disappointed/surprised I can not make this work.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

2. AML

AML

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +229
    Im not familliar with your TV, but it could be that its not actually progresive scan compatible. A lot of makers put things like that on the TV to help it sell more. the word "progresive" carries a lot of weight when selling a product.

The player definately has progresive scan, but theres no guaranty that the TV does. Have you tried other products like the XBox that also use progresive scan?

The TV shouldnt need a menu for progresive scan. It should simply work when you plug in a progresive compatible product like a DVD player and then switch it on. (making sure you change the chanel on the TV to the component channel)

It could also be a PAL issue that im not familiar with.

3. Miniholic

Miniholic

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +398