1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Denon 3910 Multi-region selection problem

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Mark Antony, Jan 28, 2005.

  1. Mark Antony

    Mark Antony
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    288
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Herts
    Ratings:
    +38
    Does anyone know if there's a way to select which region you want to view on a multi region enabled 3910 (perhaps in a sub-menu).

    As i've found two region 1 disc's, so far, that won't play - it comes up wrong region, despite the fact that all other R1 discs ive tested have played fine.

    I've tried switching the machine on and off, but makes no difference. I have firmware 6 and Denon UK installed it, along with the MR hack.

    M
     
  2. Miniholic

    Miniholic
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2001
    Messages:
    3,046
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    The Shire
    Ratings:
    +398
    Which discs are they? It could be RCE rearing it's ugly head, but the two RCE discs I have in my collection (Knights Tale & Men in Black 2 - first discs I tried after flashing the firmware) both work ok on my 3910, which was modded using the firmware hosted by Barend.
     
  3. Mark Antony

    Mark Antony
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    288
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Herts
    Ratings:
    +38
    So far it's the criterion short cuts (both discs), cannonball run and the re-issue's of universal's billy madison & happy gilmore - all R1.

    M
     
  4. sdk

    sdk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i read you post and i went and tested my copy of short cuts criterion and it works on my 3910, so i don't know what might be the problem. Maybe some kind of fault happened when you installed it?
     
  5. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,261
    Obvious I know but have you tried using a Region 1 disc that will play in your machine, remove it and try one of the discs that won't play?
     
  6. Mark Antony

    Mark Antony
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    288
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Herts
    Ratings:
    +38
    The thing is denon HQ installed both the firmware update and the multi-region! What firmware do you have sdk? I already tried that rasczak, but thanks anyway.

    M
     
  7. sdk

    sdk
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am not sure what firmware i have, did not install it myself. But are you getting noise when playing your dvd,s cause i think i am. Makes the picture a little blurry.
     
  8. Eddy Boy

    Eddy Boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +27
    Some how I doubt Denon installed the M.R only region 2 frirmware.
     
  9. Mark Antony

    Mark Antony
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2003
    Messages:
    288
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Herts
    Ratings:
    +38
    They didn't install it after all, it was what I was led to believe at the time, which I have since found to be untrue - hence my presence in the thread trying to get -8 MR firmware!

    My confusion lay in the fact that some R1 disc's played, as well as R2, so I didn't notice it until I found a few R1 discs that didn't play.

    M
     
  10. Mose

    Mose
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,629
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Aldershot
    Ratings:
    +149
    Some other odd things....I have got the Region 2 version of "The Grudge (Original) and a Region 1 copy of the same. Have also got a Region 1 version of the remake and all three of them wont play. Wierd I know, more wierd than that is the Region 1 copy of the original Japanese "The Ring" which wont play either.

    I have tried some other disc which I know to be Region 1 RCE as they all play without any problems at all. I have close to 50 DVD+R concert disc which play effortlessly.

    Anybody got any thoughts??
     
  11. Seth Gecko

    Seth Gecko
    retired member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +193
    Truly odd - the only one I have is the Region 1 remake of Ju-on and having just checked it, it plays fine on mine using the Barend posted firmware.

    The obvious thing is this is Columbia Tri-star, which seem to be the only RCE enforced disks I know of (although that's not saying they're the only ones).

    Haven't personally had any issues though.
     

Share This Page

Loading...