1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Denon 3805 - WOW!!!

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by leedavies, Aug 20, 2004.

Tags:
  1. leedavies

    leedavies
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    192
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +7
    Got my Denon 3805 yesterday. WOW!

    Upgraded from a Sony STR-DB940 and noticed a huge difference. Speakers are Sony SAVS500H (tall slimline with 90W sub), so not top-end.

    Sound from 3805 is much richer, with more depth and surround placement - sounds come from around the room, rather than sounding focused around speaker positions, as with Sony amp.

    Excellent upgrade. Go buy one... :thumbsup:

    PS. Not sure about the remote though - will take a bit of getting used to...
     
  2. cwoj

    cwoj
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    good one, i am gald you like yours....i am still trying to work out how to use my 12volt triggers!!!
     
  3. Radiohead

    Radiohead
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    4,295
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Amazingstoke
    Ratings:
    +433
    Good stuff, but you need top change those speakers to do the amp justice.
     
  4. leedavies

    leedavies
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    192
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +7
    Yes, speakers need to go.

    Just bought the 3805, a Screenplay 5700 PJ, a 30" Sharp Aquos LCD, a 7' electric screen and a Pioneer 575 DVD. The wife won't let me spend any more just yet! :lesson:

    When I do come to change my speakers.......... any suggestions?
     
  5. Unlight

    Unlight
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,438
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +9
    Do you want floorstanders, standmounts or satellites?

    To be honest with a 3805, you want to pair them with a nice hefty pair of speakers to get the best out of them!
     
  6. leedavies

    leedavies
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    192
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +7
    I think floorstanders for the front left/right and wall mounts for the rears (either 2 or 4 of them).
     
  7. davepuma

    davepuma
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    17,405
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,478
    I've just bought a 3805 :thumbsup: but I haven't had the chance to play it. I am not at home and won't be for a few months. I will hook it up to a pair of stereo speakers until I get back :thumbsdow . I bought it on the back of both mag reviews and avforums. However, the remote is absolutely naff. :mad: The display is squint on mine and there is a rattle from what sounds like the battery compartment. The overall feel is just cheap and nasty. When building supposedly high end kit why don't they build decent remotes. Arcam's remotes are still woeful as well. I thought the remote looked okay in the mags but when you actually see it up close, Urgh! Thankfully I've got a Pronto, so this thing will go in the drawer with the rest. :thumbsdow

    Cheers
     
  8. 12 promises

    12 promises
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,544
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    dunfermline
    Ratings:
    +116
    glad you like the amp.i think the remote is a piece of art so i leave it on the coffee table as a converation piece.you should note though that if you wish to use the different zones then the remote is neccessary (or do it from the front panel).i have a pair of wharfedale evo 30 floorstanders,a kef 9qc center,a pair of b & w dm 602.5 floorstader surrounds, a velodyne cht 10 sub and fill in the 6/7 channels with a pair of kef eggs.the dvd player is a denon 2900 all into a hitachi pd 5200 plasma. :thumbsup:
     
  9. Smurfin

    Smurfin
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    20,385
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,736
    With all due respect the 3805 isn't exactly high end. Some of the true high end kit have crap remotes too:(
     
  10. Perminator

    Perminator
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can't believe what everybody has against the remote. I think it's great! The "auto-turn-on" thing is just so cool. And it generally just feels very good.
    But that's my opinion, and as I probably belong to the minority who thinks this, I'll stop it here. It's a "Love it/hate it"-remote and that's just the way it is...

    I was wondering, what kind of speakers do you guys use for it?
    I don't know how expensive Leedavies's Sony-speakers are, but I myself use a couple of Tannoy Mx3's (and Mx2, Mcenter, Msub). The total for this system was about £1000 a couple of years ago...Would better speakers make a big difference?
     
  11. davepuma

    davepuma
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    17,405
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,478
    It is high end when you're on my type of budget!

    I will be playing mine in conjunction with my Arcam Alpha 8 Hi-Fi (via front pre-outs) through Tannoy Mercury speakers. I am seriously considering going for some new fronts though as mine don't match the rears or centres (newer Tannoy models) and I reckon B&W or Quad are the way to go :rolleyes: .

    I should be able to program all the functions including zones (Not bothered anyway) into my Pronto, so afraid the remote will not being used :hiya: .

    Dave
     
  12. davepuma

    davepuma
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    17,405
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,478
    ............and forgot my SVS sub! It is only used for AV though.

    Dave
     
  13. alfaman

    alfaman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The wife is having a hate-hate thing with the remote.....

    I'm unsure of it - but it's better than my old Yamaha thing...

    As for speakers Give the Castles a go - pembrokes (floorstanders) and compacts for satellites - they are gorgeous peices of kit, sound really well with the denon as well (I'm biased I've got a set) ;-)

    Simon
     
  14. Duster

    Duster
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    421
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,
    How does it sound with just 2 channel sound, IE from CD?
    My Amp is not that good with two channel sound
     
  15. Blu-rayx

    Blu-rayx
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,086
    Products Owned:
    6
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    n/a
    Ratings:
    +209
    The 3805 is an excellent amp,the only problem i have with the remote is sometimes when i pick it up in a hurry it's upside down :D


    cwoj,

    What dose the 12volt triggers actually do?



    DVD
     
  16. drunkan

    drunkan
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I Think The Rattle You Mention Is A Small Ball Bearing Which Activates The Light When You Pick It Up?
     
  17. cwoj

    cwoj
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    You can use them to switch on other home automated devices such as a projector screen, so when you switch on the amp/function the screen lowers etc....thats all i know, but they always seem to mention them in the mags so i left feeling i am missing out on something.....gadget mad!!
     
  18. Falp

    Falp
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,685
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lisbon
    Ratings:
    +25
    I's nice for swiching on additional power amplifiers!
     

Share This Page

Loading...