Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Denon 3805: very strange problem. Pls help!

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Sugus, Oct 11, 2004.

Tags:
  1. Sugus

    Sugus
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Badajoz
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi all,

    First of all, apologies for my poor english :blush: (I am writing you from Spain).

    This is really strange problem: I got Sony KV-32FX68E TV conected to the Denon 3805 amp via pin plug cord.
    Until last monday everything was working ok: I could listen the TV through the amp just selecting the TV as the source.
    But since that day, when I select the TV in the amp, the speakers remain in silence.
    I have double checked the conections and everything seems to be be ok. I can also play both DVD's and CD's and listen the tuner with no problem at all.

    The thing is that last monday a couple of friends were in my house and they were pressing virtually all the buttons in the amp, and I think that this might be reason of the failure...
    Could any of you possibly tell me what could be wrong?. I have read the manual but I could not find nothing...
    C'mon guys tell me that neither the amp nor the TV are broken... :eek: It could be a cable failure??... I really think that something is wrong in the set up... because it always worked in the past.

    Please, please any suggestion will be TRULY wellcomed. :lease:

    Thanks all in advance!!

    Regards
     
  2. Jack the lad

    Jack the lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,079
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    New Zealand was Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +86
    Hola :hiya:

    Open the flap on the front of your amp, you will see 3 buttons (Mode, Anologue, Ext. in). Try pressing the Ext in button and see (hear) what happens. Failing that have a look at what the input (TV) is selected to, digital, anologue, auto ect.

    Hope this helps :)

    PS Shoot your friends :suicide: :laugh:
     
  3. Sugus

    Sugus
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Badajoz
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hola Jack,

    Thanks for your reply.
    I tryed pressing those 3 buttons and nothing happened.
    But I am not sure what do you mean by "what the input (TV) is selected to".
    When playing DVD's the option is "auto", but I do not how to select that option for the TV... (sorry but I am newbie in the A/V world)
    BTW, once I select the TV on the source, on the amp's display (right side) the
    output channels are shown, but on the left side no output channel appears... is this normal??

    Thanks again!!

    Ps.: Jack, I am just trying to get a gun. The police will never find the bodies :laugh:
     
  4. Jack the lad

    Jack the lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,079
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    New Zealand was Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +86
    Hola :hiya:

    Check out pages 280-281 (Espanol) or pages 36-37 (English) of your user guide :)

    If this doesnt help then we go deeper :rolleyes:
     
  5. woodgaz

    woodgaz
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2004
    Messages:
    66
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Location:
    Central London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Tio! No te preocupes. Hablas Ingles casi perfectamente. Tuve el mismo problema con mi Denon 2805 pero el problema mayor es que no recuerdo como lo rectificé!

    I think it was the mode like Jack said. Does the 3805 mode button toggle you through different modes with each press? I'm sure that was the problem with mine, someone had switched into a different mode.
    Buen suerte, espero que lo solucione pronto
     
  6. Sugus

    Sugus
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Badajoz
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi guys,

    Do not wanna be a pain, but I have tryed the input modes "Analog" and "Ext.In", (the only available when "TV" is the source), the speakers are still in silence...
    It seems like the amp would not be able to "detect" the TV. I have noticed that when I select the DVD as source, the amp shows in the display "DVD" and below "D=COAX1", and finally the surround mode ("Stereo", "Dolby Digital"...).
    But when I select the TV as source, the amp just shows in the display "TV" and below the surround mode, but it does not show the type of conection... I cannot imagine that the amp (or the TV) could be damaged...

    I really thank you for your co operation, because I am really concerned about that issue...

    Best regards.

    Ps.: Thanks woodgaz, but I still have to improve my english a lot.
     
  7. Jack the lad

    Jack the lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,079
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    New Zealand was Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +86
    Hola :hiya:

    Autorización. Cómo téngale conseguido su TV conectada con su amperio. ¿Phono, ect. óptico, coaxial?

    Ok. How have you got your TV connected to your amp. Phono, optical, coaxial ect. ?

    Jack

    PS Hope that translation works :laugh:
     
  8. Sugus

    Sugus
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Badajoz
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hola Jack,

    I hope you did not pay a single penny for your translator :laugh:

    Ok, I got a Sony KV-32FX68E TV, and I believe that the only way to connect it to the amp is a RCA cable (you know, the one with two pins: white & red)... that combination worked in the past, but now...
    I bought the cheapest RCA cable I found, maybe it was damaged...

    Cheers
     
  9. Jack the lad

    Jack the lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,079
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    New Zealand was Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +86
    Dont know what you mean:laugh:


    It might be worth unplugging your connections and trying again. But I find it hard to believe both leads are broken. :)
     
  10. Sugus

    Sugus
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2004
    Messages:
    103
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Badajoz
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hola Jack,

    You will not believe it: it was the cable!! :eek:
    That's right mate: I have just purchased a new one (not the most expensive but better than the old one) and everything is OK now!! :clap:
    I have learnt a couple of things about that issue:
    1) It makes no sense to invest 1400 EUR in a receiver and pay 4.5 EUR for a 3 m. RCA cable.
    2) If you ever had a problem, there is place full of nice guys willing to help. All of you are really nice!! Thanks all and specially to you Jack for your patience with that newbie.

    Cheers!! :)
     
  11. Jack the lad

    Jack the lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,079
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    New Zealand was Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +86
    Where is this place? :laugh:

    ¿Dónde está este lugar? :laugh:

    Glad you are now sorted :clap:
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice