1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Denon 3805 sacd playback problems

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by RSD123, Sep 4, 2005.

Tags:
  1. RSD123

    RSD123
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a newly aquired Denon AVR-3805 matched with the DVD-2910. I hooked up all 6 analog cables from the 2910 to the EXT.IN inputs on the 3805 to play SACD. Even if I engage the EXT.IN mode on the 3805 it only plays in stereo even if they're 5.1 multi-channel SACD's. Any help or suggestions would be great, thanks.
     
  2. Seth Gecko

    Seth Gecko
    retired member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +193
    Obvious question, have you told the player to play the multi-channel version over a stereo version?

    I've got a couple that have both options and my 3910 plays the 2 channel mix first, so I have to stop it then choose the 5.1 version (as did my Sony and Pioneer players before that).
     
  3. Cable Monkey

    Cable Monkey
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    3,494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +205
    The remote has a SACD setup button. It allows you to select how to treat an SACD via the on screen display. If you select 'multi' it will play the multichannel mix first.
     
  4. RSD123

    RSD123
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, but I've tried all those options. Like another post I read here I think it may have something to do with the audio menu options (which are all grayed out). I'll just keep trying things until something rectifies the problem. :)

     
  5. Cwhelan

    Cwhelan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    141
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have you setup the correct input source on your 3805? to recieve via the 5.1 RCA rather than 2RCA / firewire / Denon Link etc...?? :confused:
     
  6. Eddy Boy

    Eddy Boy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2004
    Messages:
    937
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +27
    Make sure you have no disc in the 2910 when you go into the setup menu.
     
  7. RSD123

    RSD123
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks guys
     
  8. Cable Monkey

    Cable Monkey
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2002
    Messages:
    3,494
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Birmingham
    Ratings:
    +205
    Have you fixed it? What was it? :confused:
     

Share This Page

Loading...