1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Denon 3805 query

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Seth Gecko, Sep 11, 2005.

Tags:
  1. Seth Gecko

    Seth Gecko
    retired member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +193
    Guys

    I've just got a 3805 which I've changed from my Sony STR-DB1080, but it's got me slightly confused as such.

    The Sony amp volume went from -110 to 0db and I'd normally have it around -60 to -55 db and it was sufficiently loud. The Denon goes from -80db to 0 db, is 120w over 100w of the Sony, but I only hear sound from -60db. Indeed I have the volume at around -25db on the amp to match the sound levels.

    Is it me just needing to adjust to the new amp as such (volume level wise) or is it something I've missed. I've run the calibration and the test tones sound much louder than the actual volume I'm hearing (assuming the manual is correct that the tones play at -40db) ?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. DeafPhil

    DeafPhil
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Seth,

    Looking at Page 37 of your manual , you volume goes from -80 to +18 dB. I don't have a 3805 but I have the A11XV and its pretty much the same as far the volume goes. I don't hear anything until mids -40dB's

    What are you running through your Amp? It could be your input signal is low from your other devices. Sometimes you can set the volume on the CD, DVD & Sky players to increase the output signal from them into the Amp.

    Hope that helps

    Phil
     
  3. Seth Gecko

    Seth Gecko
    retired member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +193
    Will check the manual :)

    I have a 3910 using Denon Link or Coax (was on Coax before, seemed rude not to plug in)

    Cheers
     
  4. Jack the lad

    Jack the lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    New Zealand was Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +86
    Hi Seth :hiya:


    I also went from the Sony 1080 to the Denon 3805. Its just a matter of getting used to it. I used to listen to my 3805 at -18db for DVD and -24db for Sky.
     
  5. spl23

    spl23
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,669
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +385
    Comfortable listening volumes on my 3805 are in the range -40dB to -20dB, depending on the source material, so I think yours is working as it should. It was a bit of a change from my Arcam Alpha 9, on which I never dared turn the volume past the 9 o'clock position...
     
  6. Seth Gecko

    Seth Gecko
    retired member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +193
    Cheers guys,

    Just what I wanted/needed to hear (that it's me getting used to how it works!)

    Very happy with the amp (esp. without 6 phonos for SACD) but the volume bit was freaking me just a touch - but now I know the answer/reason :)

    TY
     
  7. Skeets_de

    Skeets_de
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It really depends on the input levels. With my old Philips CRT TV I listened at -16db, with the new Pana PV500 it's -35 db and with the sound going in from the 3910 on Denon-Link it's about -40db. :smashin:
     
  8. Mr Incredible

    Mr Incredible
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    22,907
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Fylde Coast
    Ratings:
    +11,839
    It must be the size of my room & seating position coz even after calibration with both the internal tones (75 dB level) and Avia discs (85 dB) I often run my DVDs at -6 dB. :eek: :devil:

    Perhaps I should see a doctor and get my hearing checked!!!!!!!!! :rolleyes:
     
  9. Cwhelan

    Cwhelan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    140
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +0
    Seth,

    A quick question, why do you not use the 6 phonos for SACD??

    Cheers,

    Conor
     
  10. Seth Gecko

    Seth Gecko
    retired member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +193
    Simple answer - Denon Link 3 from 3910 to 3805 makes life so much easier from a cable perspective with one cable instead of 6 :)
     
  11. Jack the lad

    Jack the lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    New Zealand was Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +86
    :eek:

    How big is your room?

    I used to watch DVD's at -18bd's and Sky at -24db's and thats in a room 24ftx14ft and sitting 18ft away.
     
  12. Mr Incredible

    Mr Incredible
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    22,907
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Fylde Coast
    Ratings:
    +11,839
    Room 21 x 17 or thereabouts. I sit about 16' from the speakers.
     
  13. Jack the lad

    Jack the lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    New Zealand was Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +86
    Have you cleaned your ears out lately? :rotfl:

    Struth mate thats load over a sustained period.

    Have you checked speaker output settings on the amp?
     
  14. Mr Incredible

    Mr Incredible
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    22,907
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Fylde Coast
    Ratings:
    +11,839
    I have done evrything by the book, including SPL to 75 dB on 3805 test tones with amp gain at 0 dB, SPL to 85 dB with AVIA disc. With Denon tones, the main speaker gain is + 2.5, centre is 0 and rears are +0.5 and - 0.5.

    I think I may need to get my ears checked. :)
     
  15. Jack the lad

    Jack the lad
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2003
    Messages:
    2,033
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    New Zealand was Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +86
    Or replaced :rotfl:

    Well bottom line is if it works it works. If you know what I mean :)
     
  16. Mr Incredible

    Mr Incredible
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    22,907
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Fylde Coast
    Ratings:
    +11,839
    What did you say? :p
     
  17. Knyght_byte

    Knyght_byte
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    11,024
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Harrow, NW London
    Ratings:
    +599
    i so want the 3805 to match my 3910 cuz of the denonlink, atm i spend equal time using my ext inputs for DVD-A/SACD and my puters soundcard....so annoying swapping them over.....oh, im using the 3803 amp...got it about 4 months before the 3805 came out....damnit...lol

    dont suppose anyone knows if Denon will fit Denonlink to a 3803 for a small price? after blowing £3000 on a 7205 PJ and screen i cant afford to do anything now for about 2 years...lol
     
  18. Cwhelan

    Cwhelan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    140
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +0
    Seth - I have the Denon link connected as you say however, someone on this forum suggested that I would get a better sound from the 6 RCA cables for the SACD playback?? :confused:
     
  19. Seth Gecko

    Seth Gecko
    retired member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,349
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +193
    Well I listened to my Norah Jones SACD and it sounded plenty fine to me over the DL3.

    It may be each to their own, but as the DL cable comes with the 3910, you may as well give it a try and if you like it, it's not cost you anything :)
     
  20. Timbo21

    Timbo21
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2004
    Messages:
    4,471
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +263
    Using 6 phonos from the 3910 you use their converters, which are a bit better than the 3805. Also, if you don't mind losing bass management, you can use
    direct mode in 3910 menu which will give you true DSD via the 6 phonos.

    With direct mode off and/or using denon-link3 DSD gets converted to PCM.
     
  21. Cwhelan

    Cwhelan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    140
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Both,

    I have got both sets of cables so will have a play this weekend.

    Cheers,

    Conor.
     
  22. Mr Incredible

    Mr Incredible
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    22,907
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Fylde Coast
    Ratings:
    +11,839
    ...... 'and the winner is..........'?????? :clap:
     
  23. Cwhelan

    Cwhelan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    140
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +0
    I must be turning into a woman! I can't decide!!

    It maybe down to a number of things!

    1. I only have 1 SACD at the moment!
    2. I'm recovering from a cold so the ear's are not great at the moment
    3. Have I setup the Amp + DVD correctly??

    Both setup's sound exactly the same to me! therefore I am calling in the troops! my brother-in-law & his mate! both serious AV Nuts (sorry I mean enthusiasts!!)

    I'm afraid I'll have to report back in a couple of weeks!! I'm off on Hols this Fri for 10 days & will not get him over here before then. I will Also try to get my hands on a better selection of Music!

    Wiill keep you posted.

    Conor.
     

Share This Page

Loading...