1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Denon 3805 and Multi-Zone Help

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by sorensent, Dec 24, 2004.

Tags:
  1. sorensent

    sorensent
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a pair of bookshelf speakers that I'd like to listen to in the next room and am wondering how I should go about doing this. The signal to the bookshelf speakers seems just fine as they work in the "Surround Back" configuration. I need help getting the binding posts to work as a Zone 2 output.
    TIA,
    Todd
     
  2. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,515
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,005
    Todd - doesn't it have instructions in the manual? Although I know the Denon manuals aren't the most user friendly ones out there!

    There's quite a few Denon 3805 owners out there who should be able to help, although I don't think that it's difficult to do.
     
  3. sorensent

    sorensent
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    RTFM, I live by that being in the computer field. Well, I tried to follow the manual to the best of my ability. I thought I had the setting changed, out of the box the wire posts come setup as Back Surrounds, but no luck. :-( I see a lot of discussion on the 3805 and that's why I posted to this board.
    Thanks,
    todd
     
  4. booktrunk

    booktrunk
    Banned

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2004
    Messages:
    602
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Leicestershire
    Ratings:
    +3
    You work with computers and RTFM... Ahh must work with windoze :)

    Sorry... stuck in the office babysitting a load of servers when I want to be wrapping up Xmas pressies.... Does strange things to a girl!!


    Ok I admit it I RTFM, ok, well I RTO'RB (read the o'reilly book) :)

    Steff
     
  5. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,463
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +891
    You need to access the Main Setup Menu and the Power Amp Assignment feature. Change this from Surround Back to Multizone/Room. The rest you'll have to get from the manual as it's been ages since I tried this on my old 3801! LOL.

    Just bear in mind you lose Dolby EX/DTS ES etc capability so you can only have 5.1 in the main room.
     
  6. sorensent

    sorensent
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just don't get it. I'm doing what Jase listed already but still nothing. I'll check connections and hopefully get things done soon.
     
  7. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,515
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,005
    Make sure your speakers are connected properly and the polarity is right. If that doesn't work maybe something is busted? :confused:
     
  8. sorensent

    sorensent
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got the info on another board. You need to turn the Zone 2 volume up independently of the main volume via the remote. By default it's set a -70db, not a great listening level. :) Thanks for the input!
    Cheers,
    Todd
     
  9. Tejstar

    Tejstar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2002
    Messages:
    22,515
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1,005
    Nice one Todd - glad you figured it out :smashin:
     

Share This Page

Loading...