Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Denon 3803

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by armxz02, May 10, 2004.

Tags:
  1. armxz02

    armxz02
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    290
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +4
    Ok, quick question....

    Whats the best way to get the on screen display from my Denon 3803 to the Panasonic AE500 projector?

    Use a 10 metre normal Video cable or 10 meter S-Video cable?

    Which is better?

    Opinions please....


    :(
     
  2. laurie

    laurie
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2001
    Messages:
    145
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well if it's just for setting up just use composite video a single 10m cable is far cheaper than a 10m S-Video cable my .02 worth
    cheers laurie
     
  3. armxz02

    armxz02
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    290
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +4
    Thanks laurie

    The video cable seems to be the best choice.

    Where can I get a 10 metre component video cable from?

    :rolleyes:
     
  4. puddleduck

    puddleduck
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,853
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lake District, near as dammit
    Ratings:
    +59
    you can get a 10 metre component video cable from CPC - I use the 5 metre variant.
     
  5. Stereo Steve

    Stereo Steve
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,939
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +7
    If you just want this for the OSD, don't get a component cable, get a COMPOSITE one. It'll have an RCA plug on each end, a component cable has 3 and will be hugely more expensive. Have a look on Ebay for a long subwoofer cable or something with phonos each end, it'll be fine. I got mine for a fiver.

    If you want to actually pass video signals from a DVD player or similar through the amp to the PJ then you want either an Svideo or component cable as composite will not be too hot.
     
  6. armxz02

    armxz02
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2003
    Messages:
    290
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    West Midlands
    Ratings:
    +4
    Thanks guys

    I'll get the composite cable.:thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice