Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Denon 3803 upconverting

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by nhk, Feb 1, 2003.

Tags:
  1. nhk

    nhk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Messages:
    82
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a question:

    Does this feature do away with the need to by a JS Box to convert RGB to component?
     
  2. S H A D O

    S H A D O
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,439
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +1,820
    Hi

    No, because the 3803 will only upconvert S-Video to Component or Composite to S-Video. It has no RGB connections/inputs.
     
  3. nhk

    nhk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Messages:
    82
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry me being unclear.

    I have Sky (Grundig) that has S-Video out connector. This means I can send it to the 3803 and get component to the Plasma.

    The alternative was to take RGB from the Sky (scart) through JS Box to component and then to 3803.

    I don't have the 3803 yet, but it seems that it saves me £150 already.

    Unless the upconvert is not as good as JS Box.
     
  4. S H A D O

    S H A D O
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,439
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +1,820
    That´s the only question mark as I can´t compare the two.

    At least you can take the S-Video out of your Sky box, to the Denon, upconvert to Component and then onto the plasma. So thats good news.:)
     
  5. EvilMudge

    EvilMudge
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The upconversion just takes the S-Video signal and converts the chrominance part to U&V. The JS Box does colour space conversion from RGB to YUV - it should be much higher quality than the upconverted S-Video signal.
    HTH
     
  6. shoestring25

    shoestring25
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    3,838
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    essex
    Ratings:
    +411
    never heard of the 3803 before commig on this forum it explains why the 3802 is suddenly cheaper now.

    what is the difference between the denon 3802 and the new 3803?

    cheers:)
     
  7. S H A D O

    S H A D O
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,439
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +1,820
    Have a look HERE and scroll down to the 3803.

    Main differences are new Processor (Super Sharc), Dual DAC´s on each channel, Video Upconversion, DTS 96/24, Master Audio Delay (cures lip-sync), Pure Direct Mode (uses 4 DAC´s per channel for music playback).
     
  8. DJP

    DJP
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Messages:
    74
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +5
    For those interested in buying one, Leading Edge Concepts have gold ones in stock at £749 - well at least they did this morning when I ordered mine. :D

    Derek
     
  9. taimur

    taimur
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    513
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +0
    in that web site, it says: Audio Delay adjustment to match audio signals with video signals(0-200ms). Does that mean you can adjust the audio in either direction, or can you only delay the audio? What if the lip sync is because the audio processing is taking longer than the video processing, or does that never occur?

    Taimur
     
  10. DJP

    DJP
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Messages:
    74
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    Ratings:
    +5
    I'll let you know for sure tomorrow but AFAIK it can only add delay. It may be possible to reduce the delay by changing the speaker distances.

    Most of the time additional delay is required due to the added video processing in Plasma's etc.

    Derek
     
  11. SimonD

    SimonD
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2002
    Messages:
    134
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Basingstoke
    Ratings:
    +0
    Denon are not doing themselves any favours these days...
    I got an e-mail today from Denon stating that the only model in their lineup which does video-upsampling is the AVC-A1SR.
     
  12. S H A D O

    S H A D O
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,439
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +1,820
    You can only delay the audio from 0 to 200ms in 1ms increments.
     
  13. taimur

    taimur
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    513
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for the information. Are there any amplifiers that allow both audio and video delay, or is a silly question as it's invariably the video processing delay that causes lip sync problems with things like PAL progressive scan?

    Thanks
    Taimur
     
  14. EvilMudge

    EvilMudge
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't think there are any audio components that allow you to adjust the delay of the video side, since it's normally the video side that needs the audio delayed to match it. There are some scalers where you can adjust the amount of processing and thus alter the delay time on the video side, but I can't see this as a common or useful feature.
     
  15. nhk

    nhk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Messages:
    82
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    According to Hayden Labs, 3803 still not arrived. What are these guys up to that it takes so long to get the products to the UK.

    Surprised that LE Concepts selling the 3803 (is this UK sourced?).
     
  16. uncle eric

    uncle eric
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Absolutely and I have to say the quality of the John Sims product is quite superb. Unlike other products, John uses broadcast quality components. Like many others in the custom install business, I use only JS boxes in my installations.
     
  17. nhk

    nhk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Messages:
    82
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Eric for that explanation.
     
  18. taimur

    taimur
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    513
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +0
    now that we have RGB to YUV upconversion, which negates the need for component output on a DVD player, does anyone think there will be a future black box to convert interlaced video to progressive scan output?

    Taimur
     
  19. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,507
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    RGB to Y-Pb-Pr is transcoding across to maintain image quality, that picture should remain the same.

    There are plenty of boxes that will de-interlace video signals or various types.

    The most heard of are the Iscan range, but there are many about from £250 upwards that will do a reasonable job. Though obviously you pay for what you get.

    Component outputs on DVD players save you having to use a transcoder, they'll continue to appear in increasing numbers.
     
  20. taimur

    taimur
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    513
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh well, now that I have all this information about component upsampling and deinterlacing, I think I'm back to wanting to buy the Linn classik movie system.

    Linn, Gallos and Panasonic Plasma sounds like it'll look good, produce good video and sound good (in that order!). I'm starting to save....

    Taimur
     
  21. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,507
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    Make sure you get the next version of the Classik (whenever it will be) that can do surround sound processing of external sources.
     
  22. taimur

    taimur
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    513
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for the advice - the man in the Linn shop in Glasgow was telling me that there might be a new one coming out in the next few months. I see also that many shops are now beginning to discount the classik movie system and it's on sale for around £1500 in a couple of places - I've always seen this as a sign of imminent replacement!

    Taimur
     
  23. TimF

    TimF
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just a quick note to say that I got my 3803 today from Leconcepts.

    Sounds good, and video upsampling and master audio delay works a treat - simplified my set up somewhat!

    Cheers


    Timbo
     
  24. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,616
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +338
    Yep, the video upsampling on my A1SR works a dream. Not only does it make connections easier (though I still have S-Vid connections from all video sources and an S-Vid to pj - quess I didn't believe it :zonked: ) but I noa also no longer have the dreaded chroma bug on Sky sources.

    Previously the red Sky active dot (yuk!) was actually one and a half dots (or blobs) but is now a single blob. Don't ask me how but Sky never looked this good previously. I have all my sources (inc Sky) feeding into the A1SR and component out to my Quadscan in turn conneceted to the pj via VGA to 5 x BNC (4 used).

    Oh, and it also means I nlonger have to switch to an S-Video input on the pj to get the Amp menu screens and onscreen graphics. Double bonus.

    Absolutely cracking. What an amp :smashin: Uncle Eric, I think you are gonna be mighty pleased when yours turns up :D
     
  25. taimur

    taimur
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2003
    Messages:
    513
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +0
    ...and then someone posts a message like this and makes me want to go down the separates route again!

    Taimur
     
  26. keyser

    keyser
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Messages:
    903
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    gardabaer, Iceland
    Ratings:
    +1

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice