1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Denon 3803 Help - baby has changed something and don't know what to do

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by lawrenso, Jan 12, 2004.

Tags:
  1. lawrenso

    lawrenso
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,155
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Flintshire
    Ratings:
    +35
    On my 3803 - I can not go above -2db on the TV input - I can only think that my 7 month old has had his hands on it or the remote and done something.

    Can somebody please tell me how to remove this

    Many thanks


    Steve
     
  2. bob1

    bob1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2002
    Messages:
    4,313
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +128
    You could try a system reset.
     
  3. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,341
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +834
    Doublecheck the Channel Levels for that mode/input. Sounds like they've been tinkered with!
     
  4. lawrenso

    lawrenso
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,155
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Flintshire
    Ratings:
    +35
    After a bit more investigation, this happens for DPL II and DTS Neo on all sources. For some reason it won't go above -2DB, however if I switch to Stereo it will.

    I think I will have to give a call to Denon to sort this out unless somebody has any more ideas
     
  5. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,341
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +834
    Did you check the Channel Level settings for that mode? The Denon stores them independantly for each mode although it lumps Dolby PL2/DTS Neo/Dolby/DTS together as one. Pressing the STATUS button on the front panel will cycle through all the settings for the current mode and input. Just cycle through until FL, C, FR etc appear, then compare them to what it has set for Stereo etc.:) If that still doesn't solve the problem then try a Processor Reset but you'll need to re-input all your settings (Delay Distances, Speaker Setup, Digital In Assignments etc) as they are reset to the Defaults. Write all yours down beforehand and then just key them back in again after you've reset the amp. :)
     
  6. Dimmy

    Dimmy
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2003
    Messages:
    2,399
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    39
    Location:
    England
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, it does sound like tampered channel level settings. You've probably got all channels set to +12dB or similar.

    Otherwise you're buggerred, as my 1803 will go up to +12dB in PLII & Neo 6.
     

Share This Page

Loading...