1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Denon 3802

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Joachim, Feb 20, 2002.

Tags:
  1. Joachim

    Joachim
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can you use a single rear surround channel with the Denon 3802? It has speaker terminals for 2 but are they both exactly the same?
     
  2. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    There are actually two amplifiers, one driving each output. The signal is however MONO so you could use one only.
     
  3. Craig_Nike

    Craig_Nike
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Please correct me if I'm wrong (I hate to doubt you Reiner) but I didnt think the 3802 is 7x110W channel amp ?

    Last I looked it was 6x110W.

    1-L 2-C 3-R 4-SL 5-SR 6-SB ?
     
  4. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    No worries, anybody can doubt me and I am open to corrections and criticsm. If I don't like it I just delete it. :D
    (Just kidding about the last part!)

    The Denon AVR-3802 does however have 7 channels of amplification rated @ 105 W x 7 (8 ohms).
    Yamaha usually "cheats" you with this one as they provide only 6 channels of amplification.

    Denon AVR-3802, AVC-11SR and AVC-A1SE (to name the latest models only) all have 7 channels, see the details at the official Denon UK website:

    http://www.web-quality.ch/WQ/apres_...D=DenonUK&VKundenID=DenonUK&S=2&Anbieter=5762

    (What a weird link that is ... containing German words, too ...)
     
  5. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    Oh, and I just noticed the AVR-2802 has 6 channels only, too!
     
  6. Craig_Nike

    Craig_Nike
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK thanks Reiner - it must of been the 3801 that had 6x105W ehh ?

    BTW My Sony ripped me off with the 6x110 also with a SB, but I dont have the room for 2 speakers anyway so it doesn't bother me at all.

    Also if I wanted to oput a second one in I could just Y split the speaker wire to a second speaker couldn't I ?
     
  7. bob007

    bob007
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Don't think so........i have the 3801 and it has 7x105watts................. thank you!!!!
     
  8. MarkB

    MarkB
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2000
    Messages:
    737
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Suffolk, England
    Ratings:
    +26
    Denon provides a power amp for all speaker outputs except Surround A/B (if you have them) which share the Surround L & R amps. You set weather or not you are connecting a single rear speaker, and if you are, power to the SBR amp is cut and the processing is updated accordingly (because some of the DSP modes are full 7.1).

    Cheers
    Mark
     
  9. Reiner

    Reiner
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    3,315
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    61
    Location:
    Germany
    Ratings:
    +13
    Craig_Nike, you can connect two speakers: Connect in parallel if the speaker has an impedance of 8 Ohm or in series if less than 8 Ohm (e.g. 6 or 4 each).
     
  10. mikenruth

    mikenruth
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    In the set up menu on the 3802, when you select surround back speakers "on", I believe you get an option for 1 or 2 speakers. Select 1 and use the correct (left or right) speaker terminals.

    Please forgive me if I've mixed this up with an Onkyo set up menu;)
     
  11. ashearer

    ashearer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Messages:
    244
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Binfield, Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +1
    You are correct mikenruth
     

Share This Page

Loading...