Denon 3802 & Pioneer 925 LD

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by caylem, Nov 6, 2001.

Tags:
  1. caylem

    caylem
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    85
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Feels like home to me
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can someone please help.

    I have just got my new denon 3802 and have it connected to my Sony DVD player via coaxial no problem, but am trying to connect it via optical to my pioneer laser disc player 925. I am getting sound come through the amp, but it only plays in Prologic 2 not dolby digital whatever audio channel I select on my LD Player.

    I have also set the amp to use VDP on Optical 1.

    Any suggestions?
     
  2. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,443
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +5,852
    ....and the reason is:

    The digital output from the 925 is NOT the same (technically) as the digital signal from DVD. I believe it's an RF digital signal (whatever that is) which your amp cannot decode. Therefore, your amp will be defaulting to Analog and hence stereo/prologic.

    To extract 5.1 off a 925, you need an RF demodulator. I saw a used one in Picture Paradise www.pictureparadise.co.uk (£150, I think) and I recall that videotec in Oxford do them - or they may possibly do a modification to the 925.

    Otherwise, a different amp (Pioneer, Yamaha, I think, have RF demodulators inside).
     
  3. caylem

    caylem
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    85
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Feels like home to me
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think the Pioneer 925 has the RF unit built in and doesn't require a mod. The pioneer 925 was the top of the range player for its time.

    Any more suggestions??
     
  4. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,443
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +5,852
    I have one. No it doesn't. The AC3 output from a 925 is RF modulated and needs a demodulator (either in the amp or standalone) to decode.
     
  5. caylem

    caylem
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2001
    Messages:
    85
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Feels like home to me
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks for your help Nigel - looks like I'm going to have to track down a RF Demodulator in order to play Star Wars in Dolby Digital


    So Close - but yet so far
     
  6. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    13,443
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +5,852
    Videotec in Oxford www.videotec.co.uk advertise a Sony AC3 RF Demodulator for £99.99 (in stock, they say).
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice