Denon 3802 Flashing power light problem?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Oli, Aug 16, 2006.

Tags:
  1. Oli

    Oli
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2002
    Messages:
    291
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +6
    I came back from visiting my parents this weekend to discover my denon 3802 seems to have packed in.

    The power light flashes when i switch the power on and it won't respond to anything, other than when i fiddle with the input knob a green led comes on at the surround speaker a indicator, quite what that means i dont know.

    I've tried taking out all the speaker cables and turning it on but that didnt work, does this mean its just died? :( i hope not because i can't afford a new one at the moment!
     
  2. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,922
    Is it possible to turn off surround A and start surround B.
    Long shot, I know :(
     
  3. clockworks

    clockworks
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3,573
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    West Country
    Ratings:
    +297
    Have you tried a microprocessor reset?

    IIRC, a flashing power light indicates a system error. There's a section in the manual on how to do a reset.
     
  4. Oli

    Oli
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2002
    Messages:
    291
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +6
    Gave that a go, the lights came on but after doing the reset it still flashes.
     
  5. clockworks

    clockworks
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3,573
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    West Country
    Ratings:
    +297
    The last thing to try is to disconnect everything, and double check that there isn't a stray strand of speaker wire shorting something out, then try another reset. Check the mains plug, and try a different wall socket as well.

    If it still doesn't work, it's probably a faulty output transistor/IC, or a faulty overload protection device (thermistor). A decent AV electronics engineer should be able to fix these faults for £50 or so.
     
  6. Oli

    Oli
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2002
    Messages:
    291
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +6
    ok cheers, £50 doesn't sound too bad, i was worried i was going to need a new amp!
     
  7. Oli

    Oli
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2002
    Messages:
    291
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +6
    Disconnected everything again, tried a different power point etc but nope, its dead :(

    Is it worth opening the top? My warranty/gaurentee or whatever would be long gone by now I would have thought and since i'm getting it repaired anyway..
     
  8. Badger0-0

    Badger0-0
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    20,601
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Spaghetti Junction (really)
    Ratings:
    +1,922
    I wouldn't open it, unless you really know what you're doing.
    I doubt you'll see anything and you risk doing damage.
    Especially if you're looking to get it repaired.
    It ain't worth it mate, I've been there and you start thinking "hmmm, that doesn't look right". Next thing you know, it's "oh :censored: "
    And I know a little bit.
     

Share This Page

Loading...