Denon 3802 Component problem

caylem

Standard Member
I my trying to get my Denon 3802 connected to a plasma via component but am having (major) problems getting the menu up.

I have never tried the Denon on component before, are there any know faults with this amp using component?

The Plasma has a Y U V (actually labelled V Y U) connectors, and the amp has Y, PB/CB adn PR/CR connectors.

Any thoughts?

Miniholic

The 3802 doesn't output the OSD from the component monitor out, only S-vid and composite.

(Page 6 in the manual;) )

Hope this helps.

caylem

Standard Member
Thanks for the help.

Would the following set up work:-

Plasma to amp via component
Cube to amp via component
DVD to amp via s-video
Video to amp via composite

The 3802 does not do video scalling, but would I still get a picture from the dvd or video in the setup above?

SamirP

Originally posted by caylem
Thanks for the help.

Would the following set up work:-

Plasma to amp via component
Cube to amp via component
DVD to amp via s-video
Video to amp via composite

The 3802 does not do video scalling, but would I still get a picture from the dvd or video in the setup above?

Yes it would work but would still need to connect composite, s-video and component to your display

caylem

Standard Member
SamirP, If I connected the plasma to the monitor out on the amp via component would that not display the s-video or composite signal?

Miniholic

Hi Caylem,

No you need to connect each type of connection seperately, it doesn't even convert between composite and S-video. I run my system all on S-video, with the exception of my DVD which is done through RGB direct to my TV.

My setup.

PS2 -> AMP S-Video
VCR -> AMP S-Video
DVD -> AMP S-Video (For OSD with DVD)
DVD -> TV RGB Scart
AMP -> TV S-Video-to-Scart lead

My TV only has two scarts, so this is the easiest way for me to wire the system up, in your case I think that you would need 3 connections to your Plasma 1 x Component 1 x Composite 1 x S-Video.