Denon 3801 - 5 Channel "Stereo"

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by PaulBoy, Jan 18, 2001.

Tags:
  1. PaulBoy

    PaulBoy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    1,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Surrey UK
    Ratings:
    +87
    If I use my DVD player to play CD music can I still set the audio to the 5 Channel "Stereo" ?
    Sorry if this is a stupid question ...

    ------------------
    "Hi my names Paul and I'm a dvdaholic ..."
     
  2. Dave Jones

    Dave Jones
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thats how I play CD Music.

    Are you using 5 Channel Stereo for DVD as well?

    Dave
     
  3. PaulBoy

    PaulBoy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    1,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Surrey UK
    Ratings:
    +87
    Dave - Thanks for your help ...
    I asked the question B4 getting my brand new 3801 out of the box but since then I have started to wire it all up starting with the DVD player only and after about 2 hours I managed to get some sound!!!
    When I play a CD in my DVD player (I have no CD player) I can select 5/7 channel stereo and it sounds fantastic ...
    When I tried a DVD I found I have no DD5.1 but did have DTS ? any ideas what I have done wrong ?
    TIA - Paul [​IMG]

    ------------------
    "Hi my names Paul and I'm a dvdaholic ..."
     
  4. Mad Max

    Mad Max
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi [​IMG] How do you like your new toy ?

    You probably have set the option to DTS only.
    On your remote, there is a "MODE" button. If I remember well, you just push it until your Denon displays "Auto". Then, The receiver will choose whatever format the DVD is sending it [​IMG]

    Cheers



    ------------------
    An adult is just a kid with expensive toys.

    Rui
     
  5. PaulBoy

    PaulBoy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    1,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Surrey UK
    Ratings:
    +87
    Dear Mad (or is it Max)
    I know what you are saying about the Mode & setting it to Auto (I did that) It checks the signal coming in and displays "DVD coaxial" (which is right) and then displays "Dolby Pro Logic" (or similar - I'm at work now!) When I change the mode to DTS and use a DTS DVD it works - so presumably the DTS signal is getting thru - but DD5.1 is not getting thru ...
    As an added complication my DVD player Pioneer 626 has DD5.1 & DTS decoders on board so mayby I have set the DVD wrong ?
    Any ideas ?
    TIA - Paul [​IMG]

    ------------------
    "Hi my names Paul and I'm a dvdaholic ..."
     
  6. paulw77

    paulw77
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2000
    Messages:
    603
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Wigan
    Ratings:
    +48
    The two DTS discs I have tried (Gladioli and Chicken Run) have an option on the audio menu to select DD or DTS - maybe you have yours set to DTS (although it would be a coincidence if both were set to DTS without your knowledge).
     
  7. PaulBoy

    PaulBoy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    1,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Surrey UK
    Ratings:
    +87
    paulw77 ...
    All the DTS capable discs I have default to DD5.1 (a la Galdiator) so you have to go in and change them to DTS (which I find rather annoying - but that's another issue) ...
    On an "ordinary" DD5.1 only disc I am not getting any sound so there's obviously a setting wrong in either the amp or the DVD (more likely) and of course I am thick - but I cant wait to get home and try sorting it out !!!
    CD's in 5 channel stereo sound so good - I am going to wreck the place when I get home tonight [​IMG]

    ------------------
    "Hi my names Paul and I'm a dvdaholic ..."
     
  8. Mad Max

    Mad Max
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know exactly what you mean [​IMG]

    I had a similar problem the day I got mine.

    Before, I had a non-digital receiver, and therefore I had the digital outputs on my DVD to Off. When I got the Denon, I turned theDVD option on to PCM... And was anoyed to see that I had no DD or DTS ! Only to find out the next day, after a lot of research over the net (and some questions on this forum) that PCM is the CD Audio standard !!! (Ok, you can stop laughing now ! [​IMG] ).

    So go home, check your settings, and do like me... I only have 1 neighbour left in the building [​IMG] all the other have moved out !

    By the way, it's Max, I guess [​IMG]



    ------------------
    An adult is just a kid with expensive toys.

    Rui
     
  9. Mad Max

    Mad Max
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yup, you could be right... Maybe your DVD is set to DTS only...

    I have a question though... Is the receiver changing modes automatically ? (From pro-logic to DTS, and vice-versa ?) Or are you changing the play modes manually ? Mine just changes to the correct mode automatically. Usually, DVD menus are in pro-login, and as soon as the movie starts, the receiver changes to DD or DTS, whichever the format is.

    Is yours doing this with DTS ?

    ------------------
    An adult is just a kid with expensive toys.

    Rui
     
  10. PaulBoy

    PaulBoy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    1,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Surrey UK
    Ratings:
    +87
    Yes it detected DTS automatically but it fails to detect the normal dd5.1 on auto and there doesnt appear to be a dd5.1 setting manually the way there is for DTS ...
    I have spoken to my friendly dealer and he thinks I might have the DVD set wrong so I'll have a look when I get home & post what I did (assuming I sort it out?) ...

    ------------------
    "Hi my names Paul and I'm a dvdaholic ..."
     
  11. PaulBoy

    PaulBoy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    1,735
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Surrey UK
    Ratings:
    +87
    Max then ...
    Got my DD5.1 - Although I had been selecting Auto through "Mode" the dealer told me to select Auto on the front of the amp & it worked ...
    Everything sounds brill much better than my old Yammy ... [​IMG]

    ------------------
    "Hi my names Paul and I'm a dvdaholic ..."
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice