1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Denon 3800 discontinued?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by totem, Mar 10, 2003.

  1. totem

    totem
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    26
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ordered a 3800 last week, been told now by my local dealer that it is discontinued.
    Phoned Denon, who confirm that it is now discontinued. They say a new model is coming out soon, but were unable to say what the specifications were or if it was a replacment for this machine or not.

    Just when I had decided to get the 3800.....


    totem
     
  2. hazard

    hazard
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cork
    Ratings:
    +3
    Same here, except I was told the new model wouldn't be out until September!
     
  3. BabylonP

    BabylonP
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    98
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +5
    The new model is the 3900.
     
  4. gringottsdirect

    gringottsdirect
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,896
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    50 Rue St Georges, Paris.
    Ratings:
    +27
    So wait until following February to buy one that works properly ! :laugh:
     
  5. hazard

    hazard
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2002
    Messages:
    136
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cork
    Ratings:
    +3
    lol :)

    Instead I opted to send back my DV88+ for its third update, in the hope that it will finally deliver Pal prog properly...

    :eek:
     
  6. chips

    chips
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    2NM S EGTF
    Ratings:
    +22
    When I read threads like this, I'm happy that I spent all that money on the Tosh 9500.
     
  7. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hasn’t the Toshiba 9500 got the Chroma bug though? :D
     
  8. chips

    chips
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    2NM S EGTF
    Ratings:
    +22
    I think it may have, but I'm damned if I can see it :smoke:
     
  9. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does the Chroma bug effect Progressive only display/ouput, or is it visible with both?

    Dreading my next DVD player purchase- Arcam- no. Denon- no. Pioneer- maybe. Sony- no. Toshiba-maybe (RCE and Chroma probs)
     
  10. chips

    chips
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    2NM S EGTF
    Ratings:
    +22
    9500 plays RCE fine, in fact I haven't found anything it won't play.

    Never skips, locks-up or any of the other horrors you read about with other machines.

    I don't know much about chroma bug, but have played all the bits that are supposed to show it up and I just can't see it on interlaced or progressive, NTSC or PAL.
     
  11. fraggle

    fraggle
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,441
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Milton Keynes
    Ratings:
    +29
    Good question, seeing as Chips just said he couldn't see it at all! :D :rotfl:
     
  12. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Generally asking, not directed at Chips but anyone who knows about the Chroma issue.
     
  13. chips

    chips
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    2NM S EGTF
    Ratings:
    +22
  14. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  15. nhk

    nhk
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Messages:
    82
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm happy with the 757 Pioneer. Reliable - NTSC prog works a treat. Glad I opted against the Denon 3800 - would have had a 1 week old machine that is officially discontd.

    I'm amazed and impressed by the patience that people have towards Arcam and Denon players. They must truly rate the quality way above the others to justify the hassle of updates and faults.

    No doubt for the lucky ones these machines must be very good.
     
  16. Bonesy

    Bonesy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,143
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +27
    well, back on topic....

    I can't understand this.
    I have had one on order for three months, and there's been none available.

    They must be discontinued because of the laser pick-up problems.
    Why else discontinue a product, well before the availability of its replacement.

    This does not follow denon's usual product shipping policy.
     
  17. Big_AL007

    Big_AL007
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, just to get back on topic. The 3800 is indeed discontinued but the new model is out in April.
     
  18. ian_guinan

    ian_guinan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Australia
    Ratings:
    +18
    By 'new model' do you mean the 2900 (said to be around the same price as the current 3800) or the 3900?

    A shame if they have pulled the plug on the 3800 as they've only just seemed to get it right:D

    Regards,
    Ian Guinan
     
  19. gringottsdirect

    gringottsdirect
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    2,896
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    50 Rue St Georges, Paris.
    Ratings:
    +27
    If you mean DVD-2900 this has a different internal specification to DVD-3800, in particular the power supply, according to DenonJeff over on AVS.
    The 3800 replacement is 3900, expected ?
     
  20. Blu-rayx

    Blu-rayx
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2001
    Messages:
    2,086
    Products Owned:
    6
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    n/a
    Ratings:
    +209
    with so many problems,denon has made a wise choice to discontinue.

    fingers crossed the new 3900 should work without problems :)


    dvd :cool:
     
  21. boltoa

    boltoa
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2002
    Messages:
    917
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Nottingham
    Ratings:
    +102
    Anyone know if the 3900 is likely to have the Denon Digital Link, or is that going to remain exclusively on the top model (A1) only? Given Pioneer have got their digital link on the £800 (or so, bit of a guess) 757Ai, is Denon likely to see this as a challenge?

    I was also contemplating 3800 some time shortly, so looks like I'll be waiting a bit too.

    Andrew
     
  22. Jasonjo

    Jasonjo
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,648
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +112
    wow!!! that was quick...surprised they aren't calling it the 3800mkII though ;-)

    will make my website a bit redundant :-(

    JJ
     
  23. ian_guinan

    ian_guinan
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2001
    Messages:
    1,163
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Australia
    Ratings:
    +18
    I'm still finding this hard to believe (especially as the Americans seem not to have been told anything about the 3800 being discontinued)..

    I know product cycles are short but this is incredible.

    Ian Guinan
     
  24. ASH1

    ASH1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    1,208
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +61
    I've already gone form a 2800, 2800mk2 both faulty, and now to a 3800. If this one plays up I'll be asking Denon for a 3900 upgrade.
    Apparently is has S.A.C.D. as well as DVD-A.

    ASH1
     
  25. Bonesy

    Bonesy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,143
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +27
    This must be problem-related.

    It appears to be the shortest product life-span,
    and if the americans haven't been informed yet....


    it's as if they realise they will have to do laser pick-up changes, and so want to do damage limitation...

    ie. limit the amount they have to pay on the recalls, and limit the impact it will have on the brand. what do you think :confused:
     
  26. juboy

    juboy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep, totally agree. They know they have a top rated product out there that basically doesn't work. That's not going to help sales of their other new kit, especially when problems have already been reported with that as well.

    My brand new Denon 2800MkII is arriving today. I should be pleased, excited even... so why is it I'm dreading it?

    That's the kind of brand tarnishing Denon must now try and reverse. I, for one, will be sending the 2800MkII back the very minute I notice a disc skip or any other of it's numerous problems.
     
  27. nathan_silly

    nathan_silly
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    But have you time or the worry of trawling through discs within a week of receiving it?- I guess you can play a R1 RCE disc, The Matrix, DVD-Audio, Terminator 2, Disney, R1 Monsters Inc layer change, and R2 discs.
     
  28. juboy

    juboy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh yes... I will be playing all my reference discs tonight, let alone in a week :D

    Not sure why I'd need to try and demo the 2800MKII's DVD-Audio abilities though :confused:

    I have some RCE discs to try and I'll run through a number of others too. I have a couple of R2 discs I can try, although I actually don't care if it can play those or not (although re-sale might be difficult if it doesn't).

    I just hope any problems manifest themselves quickly and are fairly obvious. I also hope I don't scutinise things too closely and end up 'imagining' problems...
     
  29. Bonesy

    Bonesy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,143
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +27
    that'll be the jenna jamieson and Ben Dover back catalogues then - should be a good work out !

    ;) ;)

    (no need for the obvious, okay)
     
  30. magking

    magking
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2001
    Messages:
    378
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Norway
    Ratings:
    +1
    If it has been discaunted why did Hifi-klubben (the skandinavian dealer) get over 40 units in stock this week????
    And if you read over at AVS you'll see Denon-Jeff has said that the 3900 (assumed name, not official) will not have the link and will be out this fall, not april, that will be the 2900.
     

Share This Page

Loading...