Denon 3700 vs 4700 - some answers

Dorian

Prominent Member
Reaction score
I was struggling to decide between the 3700 and 4700 because on paper they are quite similar, and after a lot of searching various forums and Reddit threads I couldn't see any opinions from people who had actually listened to both of them back to back. I was lucky enough to get the opportunity to do so, so here's my experiences. I'm not a professional reviewer, so please take my opinion as just that!

Intro
On paper, the 4700 is slightly more powerful, has a slightly cleaner front panel (sockets hidden behind a panel), and has AL32 processing. The dimensions of the units are pretty much identical. There's £300 RRP difference between the two (£1099/£1399), although it looks possible to get a bit more money off the 3700 from shopping around, street prices may be more like £999/£1399. I couldn't see any deals on the 4700, but you may be able to negotiate a small discount if you ask nicely!

Both AVR's were tested with an LG CX screen, Kef Q35/95C/85S speakers (these are all around 20 years old!), BK XLS200 active subwoofer, and input sources were Nvidia Shield, Xbox Series X, and Sony UBP-X700

Setup
I don't remember seeing any differences between the setup routines of the two machines. Both got on with the job well. I noted that both AVR's reported my rear speakers were out of phase, but I have checked and double-checked the wiring and cannot see how this is correct, so opted to ignore the warning and continue.

Post-setup, I noticed some extra settings on the 4700 for 2 channel playback that I don't think are present on the 3700. It's a nice feature that lets you do things like set the front speakers to large for music playback, while keeping them small for movies. You can also choose how the sub should operate in 2 channel mode. A nice feature. If you care about this and are considering the 3700, check whether the feature is present.

Sound quality