1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Denon 2910 or 3910?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by AML, Oct 20, 2004.

  1. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,988
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +229
    I was recently able to get the Firmware update for both the 2910 and 3910 players.

    So the only problem now is, which one has the better picture quality or are they both the same?
    I heard that they both use the same video board so in theory the picture should be identical.

    Does anyone know the difference if there is one? Has anyone had the chance to compare these 2 players?

    I really need to know this as I dont want to buy the 3910 if the 2910's picture quality is the same.

    Cheers! :lease:
     
  2. Andretti

    Andretti
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do I upgrade the firmware if I buy a 2910?

    Where can I find the software? Does it make it region free?

    Thanks

    A
     
  3. BrianC

    BrianC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    2,190
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +101
    From memory the only reported differences are:

    1) Better build quality, larger and heavier for the 3910
    2) Better DACs for the 3910
    3) Bass management option for the 3910 - the 2910 is fixed at 80Hz for the analog sub output, while this is configurable for the 3910. Only worth it if you are using the analog inputs and your main speakers aren't full range - i.e., normally set to small on the amp
    4) The 3910 has DENON Pixel Image Correction, the 2910 does not
    5) Brilliant black (this is only an option on DVI/HDMI outputs)
    6) There is picture adjustment on the 3910, it also includes 2 memorys for this, its not on the 2910

    To cut a long list short, the 2910 is a cut down 3910 with some compromises in build quality and features, but the basic hardware is the same. Its really down to the connection type, the quality and size of your screen and personal preference if the 3910 offers a better picture.
     
  4. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,988
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +229
    Cheers!

    BTW you can get the Firmware updates for both players on this website.

    Yes they will make these players multiregion (as long as you can get the firmware to work).
    Find the thread that has the firmware, its in here somewhere!

    Mind that using the firmware updates is free but at your own risk.

    As for my choice, Ill probably get the 3910. Unless the wife throws a tantrum!
     
  5. Messiah

    Messiah
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2002
    Messages:
    7,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +339
    Good choice.
     
  6. Andretti

    Andretti
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    AML, thanks.

    I'm sure this is a really stupid question, but...

    ...how do I get the firware over to the player? Do I put it on a DVD and 'boot' it??

    a
     
  7. AML

    AML
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    4,988
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Tokyo
    Ratings:
    +229
    Yes. I think the 3910 file also has instructions on how to use it.

    Basically: burn the file onto a CD-R, DVD-R or one of the other formats like the + disks.
    Then turn on the machine, put the disk in, let it upgrade then switch off the machine at the mains. while leaving the tray open when you take out the disk.

    Plug it back in, press and hold the play button, the track forward button and the eject button(?) That resets the machine and thats it.

    Once you done all that it should play all regions.

    There are some people who had trouble getting it to work but as you can see in those threads there is a solution for every problem. Just ask!

    You can get both firmwares from this french site.
    http://www.homecinema-fr.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=29757000

    You can also get the 3910's frimware with english instructions from one of the threads on this site.

    BTW Spoke to the wife and managed to convince her to get the 3910 as a xmas prezzy! :D

    I just have one Q. Will the firmware I got from this site work with a R2 japanese player? Im sure it will since the file is probabl universal but I just want to make sure!
     

Share This Page

Loading...