1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Denon 2805

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Hyp3rion, Dec 13, 2004.

Tags:
  1. Hyp3rion

    Hyp3rion
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Messages:
    38
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    9
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does the component output on the Denon 2805 output in progressive scan? If so is it dependent on the input being progressive or if i plug in a non progresive dvd player will it upconvert it to progressive?
     
  2. S H A D O

    S H A D O
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,284
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +1,566
    It will pass through a Progressive Signal. It can't de-interlace an Interlaced signal though.
     
  3. [Slip]

    [Slip]
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2004
    Messages:
    189
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    I am looking at this amp for that reason, is it correct that I can connect my projector via component to the 2805 and then connect all my other AV equipment via any other video input style and it will upscale it to component?

    Best price I can see for this is £519 currently, does look like an amazing amp!

    Anyone any experience with the auto setup function?
     
  4. MagicBoy

    MagicBoy
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2003
    Messages:
    308
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +21
    It won't "upscale" the video from composite and s-video - just output what it receives via the component connections. The usual rule of hi-fi applies - crap in = crap out.
     
  5. S H A D O

    S H A D O
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,284
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +1,566
    The 2805 does have Video Upconversion from Composite and S-Video ;). Just bear in mind you won't gain quality as such, as it just converts the signal format.
     
  6. CrispyXUK

    CrispyXUK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2003
    Messages:
    3,727
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Land of the Living, Essex
    Ratings:
    +35
    how about the downconversion to S-video? If I send a Progressive image via Component can it output that through s-video?
     
  7. patr1ck

    patr1ck
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2002
    Messages:
    247
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +26
    The only downconversion it will do is S-Video to composite.

    Pat
     
  8. sapkan

    sapkan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    496
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    slightly off-topic does anyone know whether the 2805 can drive A+B main speakers simultaneouly provided that only 5.1 is used in the main room?
     

Share This Page

Loading...