1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Denon 2805 Sky + - RGB Scart or s-video up conversion?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by ndenbow, May 3, 2005.

Tags:
  1. ndenbow

    ndenbow
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Herts
    Ratings:
    +11
    Hi all,

    I have just ordered a Denon 2805 receiver and was wondering how to setup the video connection from a Pace Sky + (V2) box to my Viera plasma.

    I currently have the Sky + box conected using a Thor Scart lead configured for RGB and connected directly to the plasma.

    I was thinking of buying a Mark Grant s-video and RCA component cable and using the receiver to convert the signal to component. I already use Mark Grant Component and digital coax cables to connect my DVD player - very impressed!

    Anyone had similar experience/thoughts on this?

    Nick.
     
  2. MPK

    MPK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    479
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +8
    Denon receivers cannot receive RGB signals, which means you will either have to feed an s-video signal to the amp or use an RGB to component converter. S-video will be a worse signal than your current RGB signal, therefore the only point in feeding it through the amp is for video switching and then it should be done with a JS Technologies RGBs to component converter. This will set you back about £150. The picture quality will be very similar (although not better) to your current set up, so you really have to think about whether it's worth it only for the video switching.
     
  3. Flimber

    Flimber
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    13,362
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,477
    Denon recievers can handle RGB with an appropriately-wired scart to 4-rca cable (search these very forums) but

    a). It's unclear whether or not this method works on newer amps/recievers with 'upconversion'

    b). Say "toodle-pip" to widescreen switching, unless you hack up a funky cable or pay QED £75 for one of theirs (with extra 3.5mm plugs/sockets for the pin-8 signal). And even then, you only get to do this for a single source else you'd need to start switching the pin-8/3.5mm signal...

    Mike.
     
  4. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,405
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +856
    Are you sure of that Mike? :confused: It's a new one on me if they can.
     
  5. Jase

    Jase
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    9,405
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    South Coast
    Ratings:
    +856
  6. Flimber

    Flimber
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    13,362
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,477
  7. MPK

    MPK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    479
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +8
    I have tried it on mine and it definitely does not work to input RGB into the amp. I therefore had to get a RGBs to YUV converter. I understand only few amps such as Arcam allow RGB input.
     
  8. Flimber

    Flimber
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    13,362
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,477
    AFAIK, it's the upconversion in yours which is messing it up. Your amp knows what a component signal should look like and won't accept the RGB 'intrusion'. But with all upconversion turned utterly off - if that's possible - it still might work.

    Mike.
     
  9. Flimber

    Flimber
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    13,362
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,477
    The other thing is: was your output cable wired properly ?
     
  10. MPK

    MPK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    479
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +8
    Ah, I see, I didn't try that. Got so frustrated at some point that I just ordered the converter box from JS Technologies. :)
     
  11. Flimber

    Flimber
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    13,362
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,477
    If you've still got the relevant cable give it a whirl :)
     
  12. ndenbow

    ndenbow
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    Messages:
    482
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Herts
    Ratings:
    +11
    So can someone confirm that the ONLY point of component up-conversion is to allow video switching? I don't really care about aspect ratio switching.
     
  13. mickbarlow

    mickbarlow
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Messages:
    532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    i am sure i read that all the new xx7 series yammys allow rgb input?

    can anyone confirm this?
     
  14. MPK

    MPK
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    479
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +8
    Let's be clear on what upconversion is: When you have a composite signal or s-video signal, upconversion converts the signal to component so you can use the amp for video switching. However, the quality will not be as good as if you use a component input in the first place as the upconverter will have to "guess" to a certain amount to separate the signal. So forget about upconverting if you can feed the amp with a component signal, which you should do anyway. Get a RGB to Component converter from JS Technologies or follow the above thread and soldier a scart to 4 phono cable yourself. This will give you the best possible connection with video switching. However, don't expect it to be better than your current RGBscart connection as RGB and component are very similar.
     

Share This Page

Loading...