Denon 2802.....no sound:(

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by paulr, Aug 22, 2002.

Tags:
  1. paulr

    paulr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,159
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    North Lincs
    Ratings:
    +65
    Ok..........got the speakers wired in,amp is plugged in and turned on.........DVD is set as source........audio out from DVD to amp is wired up...........no sound????????????????

    What else is there????????

    thanks
    Paul..
     
  2. Electric Mayhem

    Electric Mayhem
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,629
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +2,233
    Have you assigned the digital input? eg OPT1 - DVD. Also make sure the amp is set to AUTO.
     
  3. Electric Mayhem

    Electric Mayhem
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,629
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +2,233
    Hang on a mo. Just spotted your post in General Hardware, if you haven´t got a digital cable of some sort (Optical or Coaxial) you won´t get 5.1 Audio. As a temporary measure use just one of your analogue cables as a Coaxial cable. Then assign the digital input COAX1 - DVD. Still make sure the amp is set to AUTO so that it detects the signal.

    Also check that the dvd player is set to output a Bitstream signal (Dolby/DTS).
     
  4. paulr

    paulr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,159
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    North Lincs
    Ratings:
    +65
    Thanks Jase......i had a feeling it was this....will get a digital cable today.....cheers.
     
  5. paulr

    paulr
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2002
    Messages:
    1,159
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    North Lincs
    Ratings:
    +65
    Jase....cheers mate,...just as you said.Got the optical cable and set the DVD for this as the output.Then set the Amp to auto,and 6.1 surround sound.
    Works a treat............
    Thanks
    Paul.
     
  6. Electric Mayhem

    Electric Mayhem
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2001
    Messages:
    10,629
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Ratings:
    +2,233
    No problem:)
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice