1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Denon 2200: Any problems?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by AgentCool, Oct 17, 2004.

  1. AgentCool

    AgentCool
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,649
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +184
    I am thinking of buying a Denon 2200 to replace my Pioneer DV-575 which is giving me grief. Has anyone had any problems with this player regarding the following:

    1) Horizontal banding through RGB Scart on certain TVs as with the Pioneer?

    2) Inexplicable freezing and jumping when playing certain discs?

    3) Any other problems?

    Any info would be helpful. Thanks.
     
  2. Colonel Burton

    Colonel Burton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Messages:
    675
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +15
    Hi, heres my experance with my 2200 hope it helps you ;)

    1) Not had any on my Panasonic whilst i was running through RGB, i now use component and theres not a great deal of picture difference (when using a good quality scart cable) between the two

    2) No (only layer change problem on a bad copy of spiderman new copy no problem)

    3) Some units can have a sticky power button but no big problem though
     
  3. innercry

    innercry
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    67
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Midlands
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi,

    There is potentially a problem on the 2200 with certain DTS discs freezing at seemless branching points. I have the 2900 and know that this applies to the 2200. The discs I know it affected were Alien (Directors Cut) and Alien Resurrection, although I have heard there are others. The good news is, is that this is easily solved with a firmware update, which can be obtained via the thread 'Denon 2900 problem with Alien R1 DTS'.

    Hope this is helpful.

    Regards Mike
     
  4. daveb975

    daveb975
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Messages:
    3,891
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +258
    I have only recently got my 2200, but have watched a few discs on it.

    Great picture via component into my plasma, sound is good too, although have not tried it for CD playback yet. It has not frozen on any of the discs that I have tried, and no layer change pauses.

    Build quality seems generally very good, although mine does have the slight problem with the power button mentioned above. I did not want to send it back for replacement as it is a minor problem, and the player is perfect in all other ways.
     
  5. steve 111

    steve 111
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    551
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Newport, Gwent
    Ratings:
    +1
    Had my 2200 for 3 months now. Stunning PQ via a Mark Grant component cable into my plasma. The only issues i've had:-

    Sticky power button as already mentioned

    Can vibrate quite vigorously if discs are slightly out of balance
     
  6. Stinky985

    Stinky985
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    674
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Nr Bath
    Ratings:
    +6
    "Can vibrate quite vigorously if discs are slightly out of balance"

    Sorry i may be missing something but what do you mean?! I am expecting delivery tomorrow of my new 2200 and if it something to look for i'll look for it! And for that matter anything else to look out for (except the button - got that!)
     
  7. steve 111

    steve 111
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2003
    Messages:
    551
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Newport, Gwent
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've noticed that on some DVDs the player itself will vibrate. It makes no difference to playback and when I phoned Denon technical support they explained to me that the reason for the vibration would be because the disc itself is slightly unbalanced.
     
  8. Colonel Burton

    Colonel Burton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Messages:
    675
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +15
    In other words warped all i do if i get one like that (which is very rare that i have) all i do is to gently bend it back works for me :)
     
  9. Stinky985

    Stinky985
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2002
    Messages:
    674
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Nr Bath
    Ratings:
    +6
    I understand 'warped'!! Thank god for growing up with vinyl!! Thats great, cheers!! Look forward to putting it through its paces tomorrow!
     
  10. Colonel Burton

    Colonel Burton
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Messages:
    675
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Sheffield
    Ratings:
    +15
    Let us know how you go on and what you think to the 2200 :)
     
  11. Phaedrus

    Phaedrus
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0

    Hello,
    I have the 2200 as well. But...it has trouble loading or playing portions of some dvds...here are some:

    The fullscreen option on "Top Gun"...plays the widescreen option just fine, but not the fullscreen option.

    I have 2disc set of "First Blood"...it won't play the fullscreen disc of the two.

    And...the player doesn't seem to like to widescreen option in "Bug's Life" either.

    Anyone else experience this? Is it perhaps the firmware issue? Boy, I hope it's that simple.

    Phaedrus (Ontario, Canada)
     

Share This Page

Loading...